Review for Never Never Part 1 by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

Never Never Part 1 by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

TITLE: Never Never Part 1
SERIES: Never Never #1
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher
NARRATOR: Kevin Free & Elizabeth Evans
PUBLICATION DATE: January 7, 2013 / August 11, 2015
PUBLISHER: Independent / Audible Studios
LENGTH: 159 pages / 4 hours 23 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Review copy via Audible
RATING: 4 bows

Summary from Audible:

Never Never, a novella series. Book one of three. Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of 14. Complete strangers since this morning. He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget. This novella is recommended for people age 16+ due to mild language and sexual content.

That little explanation is all you get going into this novel and it’s all you need. This is one of those books that it’s best to go in with as little explanation as possible because anything you learn can taint the experience. Charlie is the lead female and Silas the lead male. All you know about either of them is they just wake up and not remember anything at all. As in nothing, not what they had for breakfast, not their own name, and they don’t recognize a single face surrounding them. This is their story of trying to figure it all out.

Charlie is a character I’m still on the fence about. On one hand, she’s obviously got problems and it’s hard not to sympathize with someone who has literally lost every memory, but she’s also a bit of a bitch. And I don’t mean past Charlie. I’m mean, I’m not a fan of that one either, but I’m referring to the current memory-free version. There are moments when she’s whiny and bitchy or jumps all over Silas’ case for no good reason. Maybe I feel that way because I really like Silas. Speaking of Silas, he is definitely up to Colleen Hoover’s male lead standards. He’s hot and cocky and a complete sweetheart. The way he is with Charlie immediately stole my heart. Beyond that, they both just seemed incredibly lost. I won’t say much more because…well…
River Song Spoilers Gif

What can I say without giving spoilers? Well, there’s a cliffhanger from hell. Seriously, if you can’t take those, don’t read without book 2 handy because it stops at an inopportune moment. Good things? Well, it’s addictive. As with everything Colleen Hoover writes, you can’t put it down. You can’t stop reading and you just have to know more. If this is any indication of what Tarryn Fisher is capable of then I need to get my hands on her other books immediately. It’s one hell of a mystery. That doesn’t get solved, by the way. I mean, I know I said the cliffhanger spiel already, but they warn you that this is only part 1 for a reason. You don’t really get anything resolved. But it’s short and the second book is already available, so we can see what happens next! And I need to know what happens next!

Audio notes:
I wasn’t overly impressed with either narrator. They were both fine, but neither had me swooning quite the way McLeod Andrews can. They both do a good job, keeping pace and differentiating voices. Neither was overly accomplished at that. At no point did I forget that it was just two people instead of a cast. For me, that is the mark of a great narrator, when I get so enraptured in their different voices that I forget it’s just one or two people reading the story to me. That doesn’t happen often and this wasn’t one of those special moments. Regardless, they did a good job and didn’t do anything particularly annoying.

****Thank you to Esther Bochner at Audible for providing me with an audio copy in exchange for an honest review****

4 bows
Tabitha's signature

Leave a Reply

