Release Day Launch for Chasing Impossible by Katie McGarry

Chasing Impossible - RDL banner

 

 

CHASING IMPOSSIBLE, the highly anticipated fifth book in the Pushing the Limits Series by Katie McGarry has arrived! In true McGarry fashion this book will have you flipping pages well into the night. Grab your copy today!

 

 

 

Chasing Impossible cover

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** Kobo ** iBooks ** Google Play ** Harlequin

About CHASING IMPOSSIBLE:

Tough and independent, 17-year-old Abby lets very few people into her inner circle. It’s common knowledge in her Kentucky town that she deals drugs, but not even her closest friends know why. But when a deal goes south and Abby’s suddenly in danger, she finds herself reluctantly forced to lean on daredevil Logan—a boy whose restless spirit matches her own.

Logan has his own reasons for wanting to keep Abby at arms’ length. But he never expected to find in her the one person who might help him face the demons he’s tried so hard to run from.

Together, Abby and Logan will have to make a decision: let their current circumstances weigh them down forever…or fight for the future they both thought was impossible.

 

 

Chasing Impossible - RDL Teaser 2

 

And don’t forget to read the first books in the Pushing the Limits Series…

PUSHING THE LIMITS

CROSSING THE LINE

BREAKING THE RULES

DARE YOU TO

CRASH INTO YOU

TAKE ME ON

 

 

Chasing Impossible - RDL Teaser 1

EXCERPT:

Abby

People near the stage scream and clap and I’m about ready to throw my cell against the wall. Stupid, stupid boy and stupid me for stupidly somewhat liking him and him thinking he can get away with not answering me.

“Give it up for our boy Logan.”

My eyes rip up, go for the stage, and my mind shifts into reverse, fast-forward, rewind, and then that smile that’s associated with the devil slides across my face.

Logan stands strong on the stage. Guitar strapped across his chest. Baseball cap backwards on his black hair. And when he strikes the strings of the guitar, those biceps flex beautifully.

That chord just struck a lot deeper than anyone could have imagined. Past my bones, past my muscles, and it’s created a nice warmth that’s curling around my belly. Liquid warmth.

The logical part of my brain demands that I walk away, but he’s the one that scared me by not answering back. He’s the one that’s causing all these alien emotions stirring in my veins.

Yeah, I shouldn’t kiss Logan. I should definitely leave a boy like that alone. But he returned and he’s the one that climbed onto the stage and is looking addictively sexy with that guitar.

Yep, shouldn’t kiss him, but I already told Rachel, I’m going to kiss the guitarist tonight. Wouldn’t want that one to be a lie, now, would I?

 

 

Katie McGarry - author picAbout Katie McGarry:

Katie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON, BREAKING THE RULES, and NOWHERE BUT HERE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine’s 2012 Reviewer’s Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

InkSlinger-Blogger-New

Tabitha's signature

Cover Reavel for Torn (Wicked #2) by Jennifer L Armentrout

 

 

The highly anticipated second book in #1 New York Times Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Wicked Trilogy has a cover! The amazing TORN cover was created by Sarah Hansen from Okay Creations with photography by Kelsey Kukal-Keeton from K Keeton designs. Check it out below! TORN is set to release July 19th. Be sure to grab the first book in the series, WICKED, which is on sale for $.99 for a limited time!

 

 

TORN - cover

TORN Synopsis:

Torn between duty and survival, nothing can be the same.

Everything Ivy Morgan thought she knew has been turned on its head. After being betrayed and then nearly killed by the Prince of the Fae, she’s left bruised and devastated—and with an earth-shattering secret that she must keep at all costs. And if the Order finds out her secret, they’ll kill her.

Then there’s Ren Owens, the sexy, tattooed Elite member of the Order who has been sharing Ivy’s bed and claiming her heart. Their chemistry is smoking hot, but Ivy knows that Ren has always valued his duty to the Order above all else—he could never touch her if he knew the truth. That is, if he let her live at all. Yet how can she live with herself if she lies to him?

But as the Fae Prince begins to close in on Ivy, intent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld, Ivy is running out of options. If she doesn’t figure out who she can trust—and fast—it’s not only her heart that will be torn apart, but civilization itself.

 

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans…

Don’t miss the first title in the series, WICKED, now just $.99 for a limited time only!

WICKED - cover

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** Kobo

 

 

Author Photo--JLA_J. LynnAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout:

#1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.

She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

 

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

 

InkSlinger-Blogger-New

Tabitha's signature

Showcase Sunday #132

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuits, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
Books 6-11-16

Purchased
Dare You To (Pushing The Limits #2) by Katie McGarry – Now, normally, I don’t amass multiple copies of the same book. I feel like there isn’t much need to have more than one copy. However, there are some exceptions and apparently Katie McGarry is that for me. I want all the English editions of her books, including the pretty ARCs. I found this at my local thrift store for $1. Now just Pushing The Limits, Crash Into You, and Walk The Edge to go for ARC fulfillment.
Willful Machines by Tim Floreen – The synposis had a few keywords for me and they were “sentient computer goes terrist.” That’s it. I’m sold. Take my $1.
The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – I was so excited to find this. I just finished the audio for it and really enjoyed it. Again, I know, I paid money for an ARC, but it was $1. I honestly don’t seem the harm there. I would have just as easily given up my dollar for a hardcover and been just as satisfied.
New Moan (The Twishite Saga #1) by Stephfordy Mayo – Okay, so no disrespect meant to the tri-hards, but this sounds hilarious. I’ve read the first few chapters and it’s sssssooooo funny. I’m completely in love with it!

DIGITAL BOOKS
For Review
Edelweiss
Menagerie by Rachel Vincent
Menagerie (Menagerie #1) by Rachel Vincent – I’ve heard great things about this novel! That plus sthe pretty cover and the carnival content and I’m sold!

AUDIOBOOKS
Purchased
Audible
Never Never Part 3 by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher
Never Never Part 3 (Never Never #3) by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher – I’m so very excited about this, but also incredibly nervous. I’m heard mixed reviews, but I want to see how it ends!

SWAG
Swag 6-11-16
I got this awesome postcard from Stacey Kade as a promotion for her newest release. I’m so excited about it. I really loved Kade’s Ghost & The Goth series and I really need to catch up on her other books!

That’s it! What did you get this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

Review for The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

TITLE: The Unexpected Everything
AUTHOR: Morgan Matson
NARRATOR: Bailey Carr
PUBLICATION DATE: May 3, 2016
PUBLISHER: Audible Studios
LENGTH: 16 hours 43 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Review copy via Audible
RATING: 4 bows

Summary from Audible:

From Morgan Matson, the best-selling author of Since You’ve Been Gone, comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.
Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby – pretty much the most awesome people on the planet. Who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out, too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer premed internship and lands both her and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all – working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super-cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

When we first met Andie, her summer (and her life!) is perfectly planned out. She knows where she’s going and how to get there. So watching her summer plans fall apart was fascinating. Her reaction to loosing her summer programs and learning that she was staying home with her estranged father was entertaining to say to least. It was endearing as well. It’s those moments when you lose everything that we really see what you are. She’s smart and strong and driven. I really liked her pretty quickly and you can’t help my empathize with her situation. She’s really being punished for something she had no control over and she’s forced to deal with that reality.

I loved Clark pretty much upon arrival. The big, fluffy dog and cute, nerdy looks and I’m eating out of his hand. Add to that the fact that he’s bookish and I’m surprised I didn’t immediately melt into a swoony puddle on the floor. He’s almost perfect as a leading man.

I really enjoyed the dog-walking aspect of this novel. I love animals and it was fun to watch Andie connect with so many different dogs and really learn how to care for them. I also like watching someone else fan-girl out about a book. When Andie finally gives in and listens to a particular audiobook for the first time, she falls in love with the world. There is a scene in the book where she’s listening away whilst walking the dogs that made me happy because I was walking around listening to her story on my headphones while she was walking around listening to someone else’s.

I did have a few problems with this. Most are trivial, only one being a “real” issue. The first one is a rather trivial one, but it pulled me out of the story nonetheless. When we first meet Clark, he’s wearing a Star Wars shirt. I think it said “These are not the droids you’re looking for,” but I’m not positive. Regardless of the actual saying, all of Andie’s friends were overly impressed with this fact. As if this sets Clark apart from the rest of all the teenage boys when half the teenage male population is probably wearing a Star Wars t-shirt at any given moment. The other comment about that particular comment is the fact that Andie didn’t recognize this saying but later references Yoda. Now I’m not expert on anything Star Wars because I’ve never seen any of the films, but even I recognize basic quotes that are scrawled everywhere. You can’t recognize one and not the other. Also, they make several Clark Kent references but never once made a Bruce Wayne one. Am I the only one that noticed our swoony hero’s name is just the two big superheros pushed together? My other issue was a bigger problem. Without getting spoilery, let’s just say one of the characters pulls an Edward and leave it at that.

This was my second Morgan Matson novel. Everyone is gaga over her books, but I was underwhelmed by Second Chance Summer. It’s not that it was bad, it just wasn’t this amazing thing that everyone makes it out to be. So this was me giving her another try. I was pleasantly surprised by this second attempt. I don’t think she’ll ever be my favorite author, but I’ll definitely check out more of her work.

Audio Notes:
Bailey Carr does a pretty great job here. She has great pacing and good character differentiation. I’ll definitely keep an eye out for more of her work in the future!

****Thank you to Esther Bochner at Audible for providing me with an audio copy in exchange for an honest review****

4 bows
Tabitha's signature

May 2016 Wrap Up

What I Read
Storm by Amanda Sun 4 bows – This was a pretty satisfying conclusion to the Paper Gods trilogy. It wasn’t perfect, but it didn’t have any fatal flaws either. I’d definitely recommend this series to anyone who wants a YA fantasy without a fuckton of drama.

 

 

A Gathering Of Shadows by V E Schwab 5 bows – I absolutely loved this. If more fantasy novels were like this one, I’d be a much bigger fantasy fan. What more could one ask for but more Kel & Lila goodness? My only complaint is the narrators. Don’t get me wrong, they were great, but the guy who did A Darker Shade Of Magic was even better.

 

 

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout 5 bows – Fun, contemporary with just the right amount of angst? Yep, this is just what I thought it would be. When can you go wrong with some JLA goodness?

 

 

Mitosis by Brandon Sanderson 5 bows – I know, I read these out of order. I should have read this after I finished Steelheart, but I just wanted to get to Firefight. But it was so nice to revist this world, even it the trip was too short.

 

 

Wanderlost by Jen Malone 4 bows – Fun and flirty summer romance without an overdose of teenage angst? Yes please. It was just the right amount of funny and serious.

 

 

 

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matso 4 bows – TBR archievement – Also, fun and flirty contemporary YA romance. Though this one, leaned more of the side of angst than Wanderlost did. But it was still fun and entertaining to listen to and I might be inclined to give Morgan’s work more of a chance in the future.

 

 

This Is My Brain On Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer 3 bows – TBR archievement – Yet another light contemporary YA romance, but this one was just alright. It wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t great either, just okay. None of the characters really clicked for me and I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending.

 

 

With Malice by Eileen Cook 4 bows – TBR achievement – This is a twisty murder mystery.  Did our heroine kill her bestie?  Or was it a horrible accident?  That’s for me to know and you to find out!  This one is fun and enjoyable and completely enrapturing.

 

 

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows by J K Rowling 4 bows – TBR achievement – I FINALLY FINISHED ALL THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS!!!!  Yeah, that’s about all there is to say to that.  Also, there was more than one scene in this that gave me goosebumps and that is an amazing thing.

 

 

What I Reviewed
Without You by Kelly ElliottGirl Against The Universe by Paula StokesThe Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

Blog Tours
The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

Release Day Launches
The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updates

Book Tag Thursdays

Fitness Log

TBR

Memes

Showcase Sunday #131

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuits, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
Books 6-4-16

Avon Addicts
Troublemaker by Linda Howard – Romantic suspense is not generally my favorite genre, but it’ll give it a go!
Love Of The Game (Stardust, Texas #3) by Lori Wilde – I really enjoyed Wilde’s I’ll Be Home For Christmas, so I’m excited to read more of her work!
The Debutante Is Mine (Season’s Originals #1) by Vivienne Lorret – I’ve never heard of Vivienne Lorret before, but this looks interesting!
One Dangerous Desire (Accidental Heirs #3) by Christy Carlyle – More historical romance!
Hell Breaks Loose (Devil’s Rock #2) by Sophie Jordan – I’m not really in the mood for contemporary romances at all lately. They’ve just been getting on my nerves. But maybe this one will be different!
Hot In Hellcat Canyon (Hellcat Canyon #1) by Julie Anne Long – Again, contemporaries have been irritating me lately, but maybe this will be different. And they sent extras!

SWAG
Swag 6-4-16
I got some awesome swag from my latest Avon Addicts box. And the amazing Paula Stokes sent me a copy of the new post card prints for Girl Against The Universe, which I absolutely adore!

That’s it for me this week! What did you get this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

Showcase Sunday #130

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuits, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
Books 5-29-16

Purchased/span>
Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare – I’m probably going to end up listening to this on audio, but I just love having the pretty hardcover sitting on my shelf!

That’s it! Just the one book this week! What did you acquire this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

Showcase Sunday #129

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuits, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
Books 5-21-16

From Author
Girl Against The Universe by Paula Stokes – Paula was nice enough to send me a pretty GATU ARC after I made her a few bookcharms for Liars Inc & GATU. It’s ssssssoooo pretty. I loved this book a lot and I’m thrilled to have this ARC.

Avon Addicts
Shanna by Kathleen E Woodiwiss – If I’m being totally honest, I’m not very enthused about this book. I’ve been in a very NON-ROMANCE mood and this thing is HUGE! It’s over 600 pages with tiny font! I like my historical romances to be 350-400 pages. 600 is a bit excessive, but I’ll give it a try….eventually.

DIGITAL BOOKS
Amazon Freebies
Blocked by Jennifer Lane
Blocked (Blocked #1) by Jennifer Lane – I’ve been wanting to read something by Jennifer Lane for a while so I couldn’t resist downloaded this while it was free. I doubt I’ll actually read it anytime soon, but it’s there when I’m ready!

That’s it for me this week? Now I’m going to go drool over all the BEA hauls and lament about the fact I do not have a Gemina ARC. What did you get this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

My fitness log – Week 19

Just one run this week. This week is proof that I should never ask advice from my husband on running. He’s basic answer? Don’t go! He loves me as is, which is awesome, but not so great when I need motivation to get off my ass. I had *planned* on running both Saturday and Sunday, but when running behind schedule on Saturday, my husband suggested I just skip it. I agreed ‘cuz, you know, I’m lazy and shit. But I did go Sunday morning. Just a simple 10 minute run, 3 minute walk, and second 10 minute run. Again, you’d think that running 10 minutes would be cake after running 20 minutes, but it just isn’t so. I made it through both runs, but it was not easy by any means.

I am getting a little concerned about my left hip. After the 20 minute run, it hurt the next few days. Not in a “oh god, I can’t move” way, just a pretty solid ache. Then it dulled down a bit. I made a point not to run at all while it was extra sore because the #1 piece of advice I read online was just to rest for injuries and ice the inflammation. It didn’t completely go away before my last run, but it got to the point it was only sore if I moved a certain way, so I figured it was safe to go again. While running on Sunday, my left hip felt fine, but my right hip hurt WHILE I was running. Like, sharp, stabb-y pains. They didn’t last long, both probably about half way through each ten minute session, it hurt for 30 – 60 seconds. Then it went away. After the run? More left hip aches. Nothing seriously intense, just general soreness. Writing this, days later, it’s still sore. Again, not life-alteringly painful, just a dull ache that hasn’t ceased like I expected it to. I have no health insurance, so a doctor’s visit isn’t an option.

I’m just sorta weighing my decision. I don’t want to stop training to run. Even though I don’t love the actual running bit, I like the sense of accomplishment and just the general getting out of the house thing. I love the excuse to listen to an extra half hour of my audiobook. But I don’t want to aggravate it either. I don’t want it to get to the point that it’s intolerable. I don’t know. I’m going to just think on it some more. Maybe I should skip a whole week? Give it more time to heal? Buying new shoes is also a big recommendation. Not just go to the store and pick myself a new pair, but go to a running store and have them assess my run and help me pick a good pair for my running stride. I know the pain isn’t cause by worn out shoes because the ones I have are used exclusively for running and they still have quite a bit of cushion. Whatever. I’ll see how I feel tomorrow morning and go from there!

Tabitha's signature

Book Tag Thursday – Literary Dinner Party

Today I’ll be doing the Literary Dinner Party book tag. This tag was created by Renee at NEHOMAS2 and you can see her original video here. If any bloggers out there want to join me, feel free to leave a link to you’re post in the comments, I’d love to see them. Or for anyone else out there who doesn’t have a blog, feel free to leave some of you’re answers in the comments so I’ll feel a little less alone.

THE RULES: you must invite 11 guests, so there is a total party of 12 including yourself. The people I’d invite are below.
1. One character who can cook/likes to cook
The first person who comes to mind is Micah Foster from The Art Of Lainey by Paula Stokes. I don’t know if the boy can cook normal food, but he can bake and I could definitely tolerate a dinner of baked goods alone!

2. One character who has money to fund the party
Prince Rhy from A Gathering Of Shadows by V E Schwab would be my pick. He’s a Prince and loaded and loves a good party.

3. One character who might cause a scene
Harriet Manners from Geek Girl by Holly Smale could definitely accomplish that. She’d spout off a random fact about the food we’re eating or the location and suddenly she’s embarrassed and the entire party is trying to coax her out from underneath the table. Either that or she’ll trip over her own feet knocking down a line of waiters with their arms full. Either way, it’ll get everyone’s attention!

4. One character who is funny/amusing
That would be Captain Carswell Thorn from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. He’s funny and quirky and dashingly handsome. Yes please!

5. One character who is super social/popular
I’ll take Tia from Biggest Flirts. She’s just the shinning light of the group!

6. One villian
This took me WWWAAAYYYY too long to come up with an answer for this. I ended up with President Snow from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I feel like he’d have excellent table manners and generally be a good dinner guest!

7. One couple – doesn’t have to be romantic
David and Megan from Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson are the first couple that came to mind. One because they are so cute together. Two because David could sit in between Megan and Harriet from Geek Girl so they can geek-out together on things no one else would understand. Three because Megan is a badass I just wanna know more about her.

8. One hero/heroine
Veronica Mars from The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham. She’d definitely have some interesting stories to tell!

9. One underappreciated character
I’d invite Dorian from Throne Of Glass by Sarah J Maas. I feel like the further the series goes on, the more we take Dorian for granted. The poor guy could really use a night out on the town.

10. One character of your own choosing
I’ve been trying really hard not to repeat series or authors here, but I’m going to give in on this last question. I would invite Delilah Bard from A Darker Shade Of Magic by V E Schwab. I’m a little obsessed with her and her piratey ways and I’d use any excuse to get a little more of her story. Besides, it might be fun watching her try to rob the other guests and I’d like to listen to the banter between her and Rhy.

That’s it! Who would you invite? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature