Life Of A Blogger #11

Life Of A Blogger banner

Weekly feature created by Jessi at Novel Heartbeats to discuss one non-bookish topic per week. For more information about this feature click here

This week’s topic: Genres Of Music

My basic likes and dislikes with music can be summed up rather quickly with a single word: rock. I don’t know if it’s just because I’m too lazy to learn all the technical breakdowns of this genre or because I genuinely like bits of all of it, but I love rock. Alternative, emo, classic, heavy metal, or even pop rock. I love great guitar riffs, a nice drum beat, and the vocals/lyrics to match. They only rock that I’m not overly fond of is the screamo stuff. I think screaming lyrics can enhance a song at certain points, but if you spend more than half the song screaming instead of singing, well it’s just not for me. The perfect example of that is Five Finger Death Punch, which is a band I have a love/hate relationship with. I love almost all the songs where they sing the majority of the time, Far From Home, Never Enough, Hard To See, Coming Down, Remember Everything, and so on. Ivan Moody, the lead singer, has a gorgeous voice and his lyrics are downright amazing, but the minute he starts screaming all the lyrics, I can’t take it. WHY? Seriously, you can sing well so why do that? I just can’t do it.

Lately I’ve been straying a bit to things with a pop-ier feel. I’m fucking obsessed with Panic! At The Disco’s latest album. I’m also starting to like Lorde more and more.

Soundtracks are something I’m loving at the moment as well, listening to the Frozen songs wwwwaaaaayyyyy too much, as well as the old Anastasia soundtrack and Pitch Perfect.

That’s pretty much it for me. I have relatively simple tastes from first glance, but end up being extremely picky as well. I accept nothing less than my personal version of perfection and most songs fail that test due to lackluster lyrics. The lyrics really draw me, giving me something to relate to, so they have to be well written to get me to truly love the song. Lyrics can ovecome bad music, but it doesn’t necessarily work the other way around. I also need to like the lead singers voice or it’s a no go. The best example of that is Welcome Home by Coheed & Cambria. It’s feature in almost of the trailers for 9 (that animated Tim Burton film from 2009) and I LOVED the intro, it’s nearly perfect, but I cannot stand the lead singers voice or lyrics. To this day, I have that song and I’ll listen to the intro and then skip it once he starts singing. This makes me a bit of a rebel because I shun a lot of “good” rock music because of one of those reasons, like Nirvana, Metallica, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and so on. I realize they are “awesome” but they just aren’t for me.

What kind of music do you prefer? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Life Of A Blogger #11

  1. Lyrics are a big thing for me too! If I can’t relate most of the time, I’m like, why listen to it? It took me quite awhile to like Coheed and Cambria (a good friend of mine played them ALLLLL the time and I got sick of it easily, but eventually it grew on me…”Feathers” is a GREAT song). And I like Metallica, but I really can’t stand RHCP or Nirvana…they play those two a LOT on my favorite rock radio station, and I always have to switch the station when they come on because I don’t like them!

    • Exactly! I either need to relate to them or they have to amuse me in someway. And thank goodness someone agrees with me on Nirvana & RHCP! The two stations I listen to have a bad habit of both playing them at the same time so I’m forced to jump around the pop stations trying to find something decent. X_X

  2. I know what you mean about Five Finger Death Punch. I’m not really a fan of them, but I do enjoy a few of the songs you mentioned, especially Far From Home. That song is so beautiful! However, Ivan Moody is awful live. Seriously. =/

    Ahahaa Frozen songs!!! ❤ I've listened to Love is an Open Door at least 5 times in the last couple of days!

    I giggled when I came to your part about Welcome Home because that is EXACTLY how I feel about it! I loooove the intro, it's so epic…but, his voice is horrible! I always do what you do: Listen to the intro and change it when he starts singing ;D

    • That’s good to know. My husband is a much bigger fan than I am and always pouts at when if they are anywhere near us to go see them, but I will continue to hold strong! I don’t want to see them anyway, but definitely not if the singer is WORSE onstage. X_X

      I keep listening to that stupid “Reindeers Are Better Than People” one, and For The First Time In Forever. Love Is An Open Door is pretty cute. “I mean it’s crazy how we finish each others…sandwiches….that’s what I was gonna say!”

      At least I’m not the only one! I tried several times to listen to the whole thing, but I just can’t do it!

Leave a comment