Life Of A Blogger #1

Life Of A Blogger banner

Weekly feature created by Jessi at Novel Heartbeats to discuss one non-bookish topic per week. For more information about this feature click here?

This week’s topic: Favorite bands

I’m a big music junkie and picking my top five was exceedingly difficult. It’s like asking me to pick my top 5 favorite books. There are too many amazing bands out there to limit yourself to just five, but I’ll do my best. I’ll admit compiling this list did make me feel quite a bit like Rob Gordon, bonus points to anyone who understands that reference. But here it is, my top five bands, in no particular order, are as follows.

Sick Puppies photo
Name: Sick Puppies
Favorite song: Too Many Words
Favorite album: Dressed Up As Life
Explanation: I’ve been in love with SP since the first time I heard All The Same. Shim has a gorgeous voice (and the face to match) and always manages to wow me. Then I saw them in concert and if I wasn’t a goner before, I definitely was after. How can you not love a band that takes an early 2000’s pop song, puts it too wailing guitars and adds cursing just for effect? They performed their version of Destiny’s Child’s Say My Name and I was obsessed. In concert, they are just full of energy and they are always so grateful to the fans, making a point to stay after any show and give autographs. Oh, and don’t forget that tempting Australian accent. 😉

3 Doors Down photo
Name: 3 Doors Down
Favorite song: Changes
Favorite album: Seventeen Days
Explanation: These guys will always (always always always) be on my top list because they were the first rock band I truly loved. I was in my early teens and had copied a friends The Better Life cd (shame on me, I know) just because I liked Be Like That, which is still one of my favorite songs. I was just letting it play in the background when a song called Down Poison played and I was enraptured. So THIS is why people were obsessed with rock music. In that one simple moment, I completely understood and I’ve been following their music ever since. There is just something so realistic about their lyrics. It got me through my teenage years, helping me feel like maybe I wasn’t so alone.

Seether photo
Name: Seether
Favorite song: Fine Again
Favorite album: Holding Onto Strings Better Left To Fray
Explanation: Is there anyone who can’t relate to Fine Again? That feeling when everything’s shit, but you’ve just got to keep going because it’ll get better, but you aren’t really sure that it will? They have a talent for writing angsty songs that appeal to the masses, but still manage to have enough humor to produce Fake It and Country Song. I’m vaguely toyed with the idea of getting one of their lyrics as a tattoo, but can never settle on which one.

Marianas Trench photo
Name: Marianas Trench
Favorite song: tie between Cross My Heart & Ever After
Favorite album: Masterpiece Theatre
Explanation: These goofy guys are a recent discovery for me. They have that perfect blend of rock and pop that I cannot seem to resist. They is no logical explanation, but I just love their upbeat sound.

Evans Blue photo
Name: Evans Blue
Favorite song: Dark That Follows
Favorite album: The Melody And The Energetic Nature Of Volume
Explanation: In the beginning, what drew me to EB was their incredibly unique sound. Kevin Matisyn’s lyrics were…well lyrical. They had this beautiful poetic quality that I haven’t found anywhere since. Yes, I am aware that he created a new band after leaving EB, but it’s just not the same. Parabelle has a definite unfinished feel to their songs that I can’t get over, though Eternity’s Behind 4 Hours is great. Even after the lead singer change over, they are still awesome. Dan Chandler’s lyrics are great in their own right, even if they don’t quite measure up to Matisyn’s and you’ve got to hand it to the other members for refusing to quit.

Those are the top five, but I’ve got an few honorable mention. They didn’t quite make the list, but it was hard as hell to cut them.
The Pretty Reckless image
Name: The Pretty Reckless
Favorite song: Cold Blooded
Favorite album: Light Me Up
Explanation: I realize that this band is mostly successful because to Taylor Momsen’s sex appeal, but I love her voice. Plus that have some pretty epic guitar riffs.

What do you think? Am I crazy for loving these bands? Do you love them too? If not, then who do you love? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Life Of A Blogger #1

  1. Ohhh Evans Blue!! Love them and I don’t know why I don’t listen to them more often. Sick Puppies is pretty awesome, too, but I like their new stuff best. You’re Going Down is my favorite of theirs.
    I haven’t heard of Mariana’s Trench, but I will definitely have to check them out! The Pretty Reckless sounds familiar, but I’m not sure I’ve heard any of their music.
    We have very similar taste in music! High five for rockers 😉
    Thanks so much for participating!

    • They are awesome! I haven’t really gotten into their newest album, but I love all the others. I love You’re Going Down as well, it always gets me pumped up. I really like Survive on that album. You should definitely look Marianas Trench up. They are a little pop-ier than I typically get into, but they’ve got such a great sound and so much energy. The Pretty Reckless did Make Me Wanna Die, which everyone loves, but also another one called Just Tonight that was somewhat popular.

      I know! We need more rockers in the world! And you’re more than welcome, thank you for the opportunity.

Leave a comment