My fitness log – Week 19

Just one run this week. This week is proof that I should never ask advice from my husband on running. He’s basic answer? Don’t go! He loves me as is, which is awesome, but not so great when I need motivation to get off my ass. I had *planned* on running both Saturday and Sunday, but when running behind schedule on Saturday, my husband suggested I just skip it. I agreed ‘cuz, you know, I’m lazy and shit. But I did go Sunday morning. Just a simple 10 minute run, 3 minute walk, and second 10 minute run. Again, you’d think that running 10 minutes would be cake after running 20 minutes, but it just isn’t so. I made it through both runs, but it was not easy by any means.

I am getting a little concerned about my left hip. After the 20 minute run, it hurt the next few days. Not in a “oh god, I can’t move” way, just a pretty solid ache. Then it dulled down a bit. I made a point not to run at all while it was extra sore because the #1 piece of advice I read online was just to rest for injuries and ice the inflammation. It didn’t completely go away before my last run, but it got to the point it was only sore if I moved a certain way, so I figured it was safe to go again. While running on Sunday, my left hip felt fine, but my right hip hurt WHILE I was running. Like, sharp, stabb-y pains. They didn’t last long, both probably about half way through each ten minute session, it hurt for 30 – 60 seconds. Then it went away. After the run? More left hip aches. Nothing seriously intense, just general soreness. Writing this, days later, it’s still sore. Again, not life-alteringly painful, just a dull ache that hasn’t ceased like I expected it to. I have no health insurance, so a doctor’s visit isn’t an option.

I’m just sorta weighing my decision. I don’t want to stop training to run. Even though I don’t love the actual running bit, I like the sense of accomplishment and just the general getting out of the house thing. I love the excuse to listen to an extra half hour of my audiobook. But I don’t want to aggravate it either. I don’t want it to get to the point that it’s intolerable. I don’t know. I’m going to just think on it some more. Maybe I should skip a whole week? Give it more time to heal? Buying new shoes is also a big recommendation. Not just go to the store and pick myself a new pair, but go to a running store and have them assess my run and help me pick a good pair for my running stride. I know the pain isn’t cause by worn out shoes because the ones I have are used exclusively for running and they still have quite a bit of cushion. Whatever. I’ll see how I feel tomorrow morning and go from there!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “My fitness log – Week 19

  1. Pingback: May 2016 Wrap Up – Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

