Book Tag Thursday – Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Annnnndddddd it’s back. Hopefully that’ll be the last break I take. This week it will be the Totally Should’ve Book Tag. This tag was created by Emma at Emmma Books. You can view her original post here. As always, I did not create this tag, Emma at Emmma Books did. If any bloggers out there want to join me, feel free to leave a link to you’re post in the comments, I’d love to see them. Or for anyone else out there who doesn’t have a blog, feel free to leave some of you’re answers in the comments so I’ll feel a little less alone. Click on the book cover to read my review (if I’ve written one) or to go to the GoodReads page to see more about the books.

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel
Liars, Inc by Paula Stokes
Liars, Inc wraps up amazingly, but I just want more. I feel like any life involving Parvati would be crazy with adventure and I want to read that adventure.

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series
Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone by J K Rowling
I feel like this has been everyone’s answer, but come on! Who doesn’t want another series in this world? The one I want most is a spin-off following the Maurader’s, but let’s be real, I’ll take what I can get. Maurader’s, founders, Harry & Ginny’s kids, I’ll read whatever she decides to write in this world, as would the rest of the bookish community.

3. An author who totally should write more books
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
This book was absolutely amazing, but it came out like 5 years ago and Erin has given us nothing new since then. I need more because her writing is absolutely beautiful.

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else
Throne Of Glass by Sarah J Maas
Okay, I won’t announce my ship because SPOILERS, but in the current installment, my ship isn’t looking up…and neither is my secondary ship. I don’t like her current beau.

5. Totally should’ve ended differently
Lies I Told by Michelle Zink
Okay, so I did read an eARC of this, BUT it ended terribly. It does not end well….and it wasn’t very good otherwise. Had it ended differently, I might have liked it more, but it doesn’t and I didn’t.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise
Dash & Lily's Book Of Dares by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
Okay, the question says “franchise,” but all the books I would love to see on screen are too close to me. I’d be too afraid they’d fuck it up. I’d love to The Lunar Chronicles come to the big screen, but it would have to be done right and the odds are not in our favor on that. Instead, I give you this single-shot film. First, Dash & Lily just reads like it would be easily to translate into film. Secondly, Rachel & David have a good record with book to film adaptions. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist is amazing and I really enjoyed Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List, so it’s likely this would be great too.

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show
Touch Of Frost by Jennifer Estep
This has all the markers for a great TV show. Supernatural element, snarky characters, out of reach love interest, and many possibly plot lines beyond the ones laid out in the novels.

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view
Crossed by Ally Condie
Cassia & Ky’s voices sound exactly the same! It was impossible to tell whose perspective your reading from without flipping back to the beginning of the chapter to check. Cassia’s perspective was duller than dishwater, but at least it was just in her perspective I would have known whose head I was in.

9. Totally should have a cover change
Sweet by Tammara Webber
I don’t know what it is about this cover, but I just don’t care for it. I like the other covers in this series, just not this one.

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers
New Covers

Old Covers

Ok Tellulah, if you read this, I love you. You know I love you….but I liked the originals better. I completely understand why the covers got changed because the originals are a little on the plain side, but I liked the plain look. I’m probably alone in that. I don’t think the new covers are bad, I just like the old ones.

11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
I really enjoyed this first novel. It was a little too long, but still very entertaining and different than a lot of things I’d read before. But the books slowly started to decline after that one, Book 2 is still pretty good, book 3 was okay, book 4 was okay, and the spin-off was just bad. If we could have just stopped here, things would have been better. It’s not like they don’t spend the next 3 books defeating the same fucking villain over and over.

That’s it! What book do you think totally should’ve gotten a spinoff series? What’s your biggest OTP that didn’t pan out? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Book Tag Thursday – Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. Pingback: February 2016 Wrap Up – Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

