My fitness log – Week 15

Saturady I did Week 5 Day 2 and it was just as much of a pain in the ass as the last few days have been. The schedule for this day was 5 minute warm-up walk, jog 8 minutes, walk 5 minutes, jog 8 minutes, and 5 minute cool-down walk. 8 minutes is a very long time to run for someone who has never been a runner. Warm-up is cake. Running 8 minutes on a very hill-y course was just horrible. Just get to the top of this hill, just get to the bottom of that hill, just make it to the next street sign. On the first run, I made it almost all the way without looking at the time. I gave in and looked at about 45 seconds to go. Walking the five minute middle bit was a welcomed break. The second 8 minute run was harder, obviously since I was tired out from the first one. I did it the same way. Just make it to the bottom of this hill, now the top of that hill, and so on. I gave in and looked at the time with about a minute and a half to go. The the 5+ minute walk home for a cool-down. I’m rather proud of myself for pushing through and doing it. If you would have asked me a month ago if I thought I would really be running 8 minutes straight, I would have said no. But I did it!

Sunday I hiked Crowders Mountain with my husband. We hiked a different trail than last time. It was a much longer trail. It’s 2 miles one-way. The first mile and half were relatively easy. There was an incline and moments of difficulty, but nothing that required us to stop and rest. We might have stopped for a break once in that stretch. The last half mile was a completely different story. The last half mile was difficult and steep. In that last half mile, we stopped at least 5 times within that space. It was so hard that by the time I got to a quarter mile, I seriously contemplated just turning back. I didn’t. I kept going, but man it was hard. And the walk down wasn’t much better. My toes kept hitting the front of my shoe and it really started to hurt like a motherfucker.

I don’t really get sore from the running anymore…or at least I don’t until I’m forced to run 20 minutes straight…but hiking works a completely different set of muscles. My calves hurt on Monday and they screamed on Tuesday. Walking was okayish, but standing up and sitting down were very difficult. Wednesday the soreness was less than Tuesday, but still pretty prominent in my left calf. Yesterday I was fine except a slight soreness in that same calf. My husband, on the other hand, spend those days whimpering and whining like he was going to die. He actually walked around with a makeshift cane because he was so sore.

Untitled

Untitled 2

Untitled 3

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “My fitness log – Week 15

  1. Pingback: January 2016 Wrap-Up – Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

