DNF Round up for 2015

There were only a few books I couldn’t bring myself to finish this year. If you want my whole DNF spiel, feel free to read the intro to last year’s DNF report here. These books just didn’t inspire me enough to trudge through and finish them.

Just One More Day by Jessica Blair

TITLE: Just One More Day
AUTHOR: Jessica Blair
PUBLICATION DATE: February 5, 2015
PUBLISHER: Piatkus
PAGES: 384
FORMAT: Hardback
SOURCE: Via publisher

Summary from GoodReads:

When Britain declares war on Germany in 1939, Carolyn Maddison is still a schoolgirl. Her elder brother Alastair wastes no time in joining the RAF as a flying officer, and Carolyn decides that when she is eighteen she will follow him into the service by joining the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force.

While reporting to the Air Ministry in London she meets a good-looking, charismatic pilot, Charlie Wade, currently employed in propaganda work. He believes that with her calm demeanor and resilience, Carolyn should work as an Intelligence officer, and suggests she serve on an active bombing station. At her side throughout the courses and postings that follow is Lucy Gaston, naturally quick-witted and sparky, a perfect foil for her friend.

The young WAAFs both obtain prestigious postings in 5 Group Bomber Command, where they perform the vital tasks of briefing and debriefing aircrew returning from operations over Germany. Lucy, an incorrigible optimist, falls head over heels for a member of a Lancaster bomber crew while Carolyn resists her feelings for its dashing pilot. She decides it’s not worth the risk of loving a man in wartime. . . only to wonder if she has done the right thing when a new WAAF on the station sets her cap at him.

For Lucy and Carolyn, life on a WWII bombing station brings drama, heartbreak and suspense in this touching love story.

Okay, this is a case where the novel was more historical and less romance than I would have liked. Add that to my general dislike of books about military and it was probably a recipe for disaster from the start. I didn’t really care about any of the characters and then a love interest dies before we make it to the halfway point and I was just done. I think if I would have given myself more time and tried to read it slower, I might have made it through, but why push myself to read what I’m not enjoying? I’m really trying to embrace that whole, stop reading it if you aren’t enjoying it thing!

Even Vampires Get The Blues by Sandra Hill

TITLE: Even Vampires Get The Blues
SERIES: Deadly Angels 6
AUTHOR: Sandra Hill
PUBLICATION DATE: August 25, 2015
PUBLISHER: Avon
PAGES: 384
FORMAT: eARC
SOURCE: Avon Addicts Program via Edelweiss

New York Times bestselling author Sandra Hill delivers a sizzling new entry in her Deadly Angels series, as a Viking vangel’s otherworldly mission teams him with a Navy SEAL who’s more than his match— she’s his predestined mate . . .

The fact that vampire angel Harek Sigurdsson was a Norseman in his mortal life doesn’t make thawing out after exile in Siberia any easier. But things heat up when his search for evil Lucipires connects him with Camille Dumaine, a human who thrums with sensual energy that can mean only one thing: she’s the mate Harek’s been seeking for centuries . . .

The SEALs call her “Camo” for her ability to blend into a crowd—yet Harek’s intense blue gaze singles Camille out like a white-hot spotlight. The security wiz was hired to help bring down a ruthless band of international kidnappers, but Camille senses an unspoken agenda—besides Harek’s bold declaration that she’s his “destiny.” Just Camille’s luck that the sexiest man she’s ever met may also be . . . a vampire!

The one thing I kept hearing before going into this novel was how funny it was. Add that to the fact that this is an Avon published novel, and I was expecting a perfect read. But I had a very hard time getting into it. I got almost halfway through before I called it quits. My problem? The humor fell completely flat for me. There wasn’t a single instance of me laughing or even smiling at this books antics. Aside from that, I just couldn’t buy into the lure. Vampire angels? Vangels? I rolled my eyes every time they said “Vangels.” Maybe if I would have started with book 1 and tried to work my way up to this one it would have went differently, but just jumping straight into this was something I couldn’t handle.

That’s it! Just 2 DNF’s for 2015. What did you DNF last year? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “DNF Round up for 2015

  1. Pingback: January 2016 Wrap-Up – Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

