My fitness log – Week 12

Couch to 5K Week 3 Day 2 kicked my ass. Last weekend when I did Week 3 Day 1, running 3 minutes wasn’t so terribly hard. It was definitely easier than I thought it would be. I ran very very slowly, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die at the end of the 2 three minute intervals. I don’t know why this week was any different, but it was. I started out with the 5 minute warm up walk and did fine. 90 seconds of running? Done. That once monumental task is now relatively easy. 90 seconds of walking is also not a problem. Then we have our first 3 minute running session. I do okay. I use that “just get to this next INSERT ITEM HERE” head-game to cope. For me it was electricity poles. Just get to this electricity pole here. Got there, alright, so I can make it to the next one and so on. By the end of the three minutes I didn’t feel horrible, but I was genuinely concerned that maybe I had accidentally turned the program off because it seemed to never end! But I made it. 3 minutes of walking was heaven. 90 seconds of running was a bit harder. 90 seconds of walking was a much needed breather. Then I get to the final 3 minute run. You guys, I almost didn’t make it. I make it a point to not check my time because I’m always scared I’ll see much longer than possible left and that will discourage me. But I got to the point where I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to go on. I decided to check the time to see how much time is left. If I still had a minute or more, I was done. If it was under a minute, I’d try to keep moving. I had 50 seconds left. I slowed even more (which I didn’t think was possible) and pushed through but I came so close to not. I just kept thinking, “Come on! You did it last week! You can do it!” Then walk three minutes and a five minute cool down walk. And DONE. It’s now has a green check mark on the app I’m using.

I’m pretty proud of myself for getting up and doing it this week at all. I meant to go Saturday, but I ended up having to work and then just didn’t get around to it when I got home. Sunday I almost didn’t go. Mother Nature waved hello and I felt absolutely awful. Cramps are always bad for me anyway and my boobs get so sensitive that sometimes walking can be painful, much less attempting to run. But I knew if I didn’t make it happen, it would be another complete week before I got a chance, so I sucked it up and went. That might have been why I was so off and why it was so much harder than it was the week before.

Anyway, just one more day of week three and then it’s week four. Week four scares me too. It incorporates a five minute run into each day. FIVE FUCKING MINUTES!!!! I barely made it through three minutes this week. I also peaked further ahead and there is a 20 minute day looming in the not too distant future. Can I hide from it? 20 minutes is insane!

Untitled 2

Untitled

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “My fitness log – Week 12

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

