My fitness log – Week 11

Alright, so prepare yourself for a very rambley post this time around. First, I’ll do the basic updates, so those who just want to see that but don’t want to watch me talk in circles can read this first bit and the scroll down to the pictures (if so inclined) and be done with it. I completed week 3 day 1 this past Sunday, which was a day I was completely terrified of. The cycle for week 3 is 5 minute warm up walk, run for 90 seconds, walk for 90 seconds, run for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, run for 90 seconds, walk for 90 seconds, run for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, and the 5 minute cool down walk. That’s absolutely terrifying. I’ve never been able to run 2 minutes, much less 3! And it’s literally doubling the time you run. How can they expect people to keep up when they are making leaps like that? I thought it was just supposed to increase in small increments, not doubling our time again and again! But I made it! I did it! I ran for three minutes without stopping (twice!). !!!!! I’m a little overly proud of that fact. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very SLOW pace. I walk faster than I was running, but I did it. That’s probably the biggest sense of accomplishment I’ve found so far. I know three minutes isn’t much in the scheme of things, but for someone who has never been a runner, it’s a big deal.

Okay, updates over, now to the rambling! The first thing I feel compelled to mention is that I still walk to work. That will be a constant point in my life as long as I live where I currently do. As long as it isn’t raining, I walk. Last year, I got lazy when it was cold in the morning, but my goal for this year was not to do that. I walk regardless of the temperature. Most days, it ends up being about a mile and a half. I walk to work in the morning, home for lunch, and then back to work after lunch. On days we work until 5:30, the other lady I work with, Barbara (the one that keeps me sane) gives me a ride home because it’s dark by then. I am not comfortable walking home in the dark nor is she comfortable allowing it.
I’m not sure what I’ll do when summer rolls back around and it stays light out. I might still let her bring me home. That’s a decision for another day. On days we work until 5, sometimes I still get a ride home from my boss, but I walk if he doesn’t offer. Right now, the lack of all day light is why I can’t do this challenge three days a week as it was intended. Both of the walking trails I know of near me close once it’s dark, so that’s out right off the bat. I live next to a relatively busy road that has a lot of semi-truck traffic, so I’m definitely not comfortable trying to run there during the night. I’m not totally comfortable trying to run during the day, if I’m being honest, but I’m doing it anyway.

I’ve been watching a lot of youtube videos for inspiration and I have to say that I think I’ve taken this a little more seriously than everyone else seems to! If I have to pause the program, that’s not a successful day. If I have to stop during a run then it’s a horrible day. In either instance, I may not repeat that day of the work out, but I will repeat the last session before the running times are up until I can complete it without have to stop or pause the program. In contrast, everyone else just seems to keep moving forward. That makes no sense to me. If you can’t run 3 minutes without stopping, how are you going to manage the five minutes the program throws at you next week? But other people succeed, so I’m going to stop being so strict on myself.

The other thing I really picked up from this week was I need to slow down. In weeks previous, I thought I was running slow and I was also convinced that I’d never be able to run 3 minutes. Both were relatively untrue. I was going slow, but not slow enough, if that makes sense. I know go slow is the #1 piece of advice people give you, but there is a difference between what they actually mean and what you perceive as slow. Slow for me means I could literally walk faster than I’m running. It means I generally do walk faster than I’m running. But I’m not learning how to walk, I’m learning how to run, so I’ve just got to suck it up.

My only problem right now is trying to reign myself in. Every time I get on a “get fit” binge, I want to just go overboard and do it all. That is a mistake for me because then I get overwhelmed and frustrated and quit. I’m trying very hard to just focus on changing one thing and letting it stick. That technique has been successful in the past for me. Not for exercising obviously, but for other get healthy things. I don’t drink nearly as much soda as I used to and just focusing on cutting that down and not other change is what got me there. I drink water at work instead of soda during the day, unless I’m just having a shit day and I’ll allow myself one. That doesn’t happen often. Well, the shit days happen often, but the allowing myself to get a Dr Pepper thing. Maybe once every two weeks or so. During lunch, I’ve started drinking hot tea instead. That was a learning process. I had to learn to like tea. Now I love Irish Breakfast Tea. English Breakfast tea is okay, but I do not like Earl Grey or Lady Grey tea at all. Is hot tea with milk and sugar really that much better for me than soda? It’s debatable, but I feel better about that choice. After work, I do share a can of Dr Pepper with my husband for dinner. I don’t want to give up soda completely. I love Dr Pepper. No, seriously. When it comes to taste, nothing tastes better than Dr Pepper to me. Nothing. I don’t want to deny myself something I love. My over-drinking issues comes with weekends, when it’s mostly soda and maybe a propel or two. Weekends are a lot less disciplined. ANYWAY, my point was that if I focus on just the running bit and don’t let myself get sucked into the other fitness things I could be doing or other changes I could make, I have a much better success rate.

I guess that is enough rambling for one post. Here are the pics from this week!

Untitled 2

Untitled

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “My fitness log – Week 11

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

