Review for Queen (The Blackcoat Rebellion #3) by Aimee Carter

Queen by Aimee Carter

TITLE: Queen
SERIES: The Blackcoat Rebellion #3
AUTHOR: Aimee Carter
NARRATOR: Lameece Issaq
PUBLICATION DATE: November 24, 2015 / November 24, 2015
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Teen / Audible Studios
LENGTH: 288 pages / 7 hours 37 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Review copy via Audible
RATING: 4 bows

Summary from Audible:

Kitty Doe is a Blackcoat rebel and a former captive with a deadly connection to the most powerful and dangerous man in the country, Prime Minister Daxton Hart. Forced to masquerade as Daxton’s niece, Lila Hart, Kitty has helped the Blackcoats take back the prison known as Elsewhere. But Daxton has no intention of ceding his position of privilege – or letting Kitty expose his own masquerade. Not in these United States, where each person’s rank means the difference between luxury and poverty, freedom and fear…and, ultimately, between life and death.
To defeat the corrupt government, Kitty must expose Daxton’s secret. Securing evidence will put others in jeopardy, including the boy she’s loved forever and an ally she barely trusts. For months Kitty’s survival has hinged on playing a part. Now she must discover who she truly wants to be and whether the new world she and the rebels are striving to create has a place in it for her after all.

In this final installment of The Blackcoat Rebellion we get to see how Carter will wrap up this story. Will it be all neat and tidy? Will there be loose ends? Will it be believable? There are always a lot of worries that plague me going into the final book of any series. I’m happy to report that this is just as good as the rest of the series. The love triangle aspect is ramped up a bit here, which seems to be a theme in my reading material lately, but it was nothing that wasn’t expected.

You get the same group of people we’ve seen in the past two books. Kitty, Benjy, Knox, Daxton, Celia, Lila, Grayson, the gang is all here. I enjoyed seeing all of them, even the ones I hated. Daxon is such a bad guy, but he’s one of those that you just love to hate. It was very intense watching his twisted mind spin.

So this final piece is all about wrapping up the rebellion. Can they take out Daxon? Can they make this horrible dystopian world a better place? Can they really? Well, you’ll have to read to find out. What I can tell you is that this is a bit slower than the previous two novels. I feel like the others had an ebb and flow where you get a bit of action and then a bit of slower build. This is mostly slow build and just a little action. Which is perfect for the way the conclusion turned out, bu a bit different from the other novels.

We also get quite a bit of focus on the love triangle. Kitty loves Benjy, that is what she proclaims ad nausem through-out the whole series. That is her line and she is sticking to it, but does she really mean it? It’s clear things between her and Knox are heating up. They share a connection whether she wants to admit it or not. This was a subject I was on the fence for. On one hand, I have been a Benjy fan since page one. I liked the relationship between him and Kitty and I liked that they hold on to that. I liked that he could always see through the facade of Lila’s face. But I Knox has grown on me in the last two books and I wasn’t sure who I really wanted her to end up with.

I think it should have been a tad longer. I feel like once we resolved the main issue, it was just over. A few extra pages/minutes to show us the characters are really all good and moving forward with their lives would not have gone amiss. But overall, it was a great conclusion and I really enjoyed it! If you liked the previous novels, I would definitely recommend picking this one up as well. If you haven’t read them, please do so before trying this one. I don’t believe this is one of those series you can just jumped into without reading them all and fully understand everything.

Audio Notes:
I’ll admit that I was a little nervous about this. I have never listened to anything by Lameece Issaq and she has only narrated a handful of things of Audible, so I wasn’t sure how well she’d do. But she does a great job. Great timing and amazing voice differentiation. She did different voices for everyone to make it easy to tell who is talking. I’ll definitely check out more of her work in the future!

****Thank you to Esther Bochner at Audible for providing me with an audio copy in exchange for an honest review****

4 bows
Tabitha's signature

Leave a Reply

