Review for Rogue (Talon #2) by Julia Kagawa

Rogue by Julie Kagawa

TITLE: Rogue
SERIES: Talon #2
AUTHOR: Julie Kagawa
NARRATOR: Caitlin Davies, MacLeod Andrews, Chris Patton, & Tristan Morris
PUBLICATION DATE: April 28, 2015 / April 28, 2015
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Teen / Blackstone Audio, Inc
LENGTH: 444 pages / 12 hours 29 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Borrowed
RATING: 5 bows

Summary from GoodReads:

From the limitless imagination of bestselling author Julie Kagawa comes the next fantastic adventure in the Talon Saga.

Deserter. Traitor. Rogue.

Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her—Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he’d signed his own death warrant.

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order’s headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new perspective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day…or start an all-out war?

Where the first novel in this series was very slow to start, this one was action packed from start to finish. It was an intense ride from the first minute to the last moment. This was a pretty awesome experience from all angles. It does ramp up the love triangle aspect which really bugged me, but we all saw that coming. It was clear from the moment the Rogue showed back up in town that this is where it would head. I’m still pretty Team Garret, but I can see why people like him. I just like Garret.

I’m not sure I liked getting Dante’s perspective. I still want things to work out between him and Ember, but every time the idiot spoke I just wanted to slap him upside his head. He just blindly believes everything they say and asks no questions. I’ve never been the question free sort, so that’s hard for me to swallow. I just want to shake him. WAKE UP! You know your twin better than anyone else, how can you believe she’d go rogue without a good reason?!?!?!?

We get more Garret-y goodness in this. He’s just as swoon-worthy as we remember, trust me. It was just fascinating watching he put what St George had taught him against the reality. The way he handles having every belief he’s had for most of his life is just amazing. There are a lot of ways that could go. There are a lot of emotions that should illicit and he handles it beautifully.

Then we have Riley. ::sigh:: I like him, alright? I do. I like his protectiveness over Ember, I loved seeing his backstory and his reasoning for leaving Talon. But in the end, it’s not enough to make me switch sides. I know he is the logical match for Ember. He’s a dragon, they are the same species with the same life expectancy. I get it, but still, that’s not what had my heart pounding.

Something I’m slowly learning is that the amount you love a novel came be directly related to the reading experience. This is another one of those husband/wife read-alongs and I think I loved it more consuming it this way than I would have just reading it on my own. That is because it was so much fun sharing the story with someone and discussing it as we go. I’ve slowing been teaching him the reader slang (feels, ships, head-cannon, etc). The highlight of this was watching him run around our home screaming “MY SHIP IS SINKING.”
I Will Go Down With This Ship Jack Sparrow gif
Seriously you guys, that was a fantastic moment of this year. So, thank you Julie for providing me with that. My point is that the experience colors my rating. There may be books that get a higher rating simply because I buddy-read them and enjoyed that experience. I think that is an amazing thing, being able to look back at a book and not only remember the things about the story you love, but also moments of sharing that with someone.

I can honestly say that I’m dying for Soldier (book 3). This doesn’t leave off on a cliffhanger like Talon did, but everything is definitely not resolved yet. I’m excited to learn more about both Talon and St George, while keeping my fingers crossed for the Ember/Garret ship to emerge victorious.

Audio Notes:
We get one more narrator here. We have Caitlin Davies doing Ember’s chapters, MacLeod Andrews doing Garret’s chapters, and Chris Patton doing Riley’s chapters. Now we also get Tristan Morris doing Dante’s chapters. The returning three are just as good as before. By book two, they already grown on my enough that I enjoy their performances. I still love MacLeod Andrews beyond reason. He’s fantastic. I didn’t love Tristan mostly because I don’t love Dante, but I do think his performance was great. He has the exact voice I’d image Dante using and that’s what counts, right?

5 bows
Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Review for Rogue (Talon #2) by Julia Kagawa

  1. Pingback: November 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

