Book Tag Thursday – Readers Problems Tag

Week 8 is going to be the Readers Problems Tag. This tag was created by Tiffany at About To Read. You can view the original video here. As always, I did not create this tag, Tiffany at About To Read did. If any bloggers out there want to join me, feel free to leave a link to you’re post in the comments, I’d love to see them. Or for anyone else out there who doesn’t have a blog, feel free to leave some of you’re answers in the comments so I’ll feel a little less alone.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
Generally, I’m pretty strict about reading books just in my For Review list. I usually go by what book is next up for release date or that I have a post scheduled for so it has to be done. I definitely don’t recommend that. It makes it harder to read what you might be in the mood for. I’m trying to revolutionize the way I choose my next book to incorporate more of how I’m feeling in the moment, but we’ll see how that goes. The other side of that is I always have an audiobook going with my husband (I might have mentioned that a million times by now) and we very much go by what we are in the mood for. It’s ranged from The Lunar Chronicles to the Veronica Mars books to the latest Sarah J Maas book. I usually suggest a few books that I’d love to read and he picks from those.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
I rarely ever quit. In the past 2 years, I think I’ve DNFed (which stands for Did Not Finish, if you weren’t aware) maybe 5 books. I’ve always been one of those people who feel committed. I’ve put so much time into this already and I’d like to see the end so I can form a full opinion. I’ve read several books that have terrible starts but end beautifully. However, there have been a handful where I just couldn’t do it. There were ones I struggled with and the whole time I thought why am I doing this? There are plenty of books that I’m DYING to read, why am I wasting my time pushing through this dreadful thing?

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
This never happens to me! I always set a goal I know I can achieve. I’ve been able to hit the 100 book goal for the past few years. I don’t see how people can read 200 books in a year. I keep wanting to try for a higher goal, but I don’t know if I could do it! If I ever did find myself behind, I would read a bunch of novellas to try and catch up.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
I try not to think about it. Or look at the books on my shelf. I prefer hardbacks, so if the covers change mid-series, I’d have to re-buy all my books and they’d be in paperback to make them match and I just can’t do that.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
I generally will look for rant-y reviews on GoodReads and comment on those. Even the most beloved book has negative reviews on GoodReads.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
Books generally don’t make me cry. I don’t read books that I think are going to be depressing. Life is depressing enough without adding extra sadness on top.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?
I will just read the book. Most of the times authors give you clues to what happened previously and those jog my memory. I might go back and read my review for the previous book to put me in the right frame of mind, but I don’t normally re-read things. I feel like there are books I’d love to revisit, but there are soooo many books that I haven’t read that I’d be better off trying the new ones.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
I’m really bad at this. I love books and I want other people to love books, so I lend them out. Mostly it’s just to my sister these days, so I don’t worry about them (too much. Kandice, you are taking good care of my books, right?), but I’ve lent them out in the past with bad results. I don’t hang out with many real world people these days so it isn’t much of a problem, but it does happen.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
I’m actually in the middle of my very first reading slump. I’ve been listening to a handful of audiobooks and that’s fine. But I can’t actually sit down and read a physical book/ebook without being distracted. I’m not coping well. I’ve been thinking about reading something out of “must read for review” list, but then I just think about how many books I need to read and how that’s probably not the best idea and my brain just goes on and on. Here it is Thanksgiving weekend, the perfect opportunity to binge read whatever I want and I can’t concentrate on shit. So yeah, no good answer there!

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
This all depends on my monetary situation. At the moment, none is how many I buy. Generally when things are going well, I still don’t buy many new releases. I buy the vast majority of my books used, so new releases don’t make it to my local used bookstores quickly. The only exception recently has been Winter by Marissa Meyer. I had to have that book. It was a need and it was worth every minute. Ideally, though, I’d buy all the books. That is actually a dream of mine, to be able to walk into Books-A-Million or Barnes & Noble and just get whatever grabbed my attention. That would probably max out my credit card, but the happy feeling would be well worth the extra debt!

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
A while. Forever. I read Winter IMMEDIATELY, but that isn’t the norm. My shelves are were books go to look pretty and never be read. I probably haven’t even read half the books I own. I’ll get to them….eventually!

That’s it! I hope everyone has a happy Thanksgiving. Please comment with your thoughts below!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Book Tag Thursday – Readers Problems Tag

  1. Pingback: November 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

