Review for Queen Of Shadows (Throne Of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas

Queen Of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

TITLE: Queen Of Shadows
SERIES: Throne Of Glass #4
AUTHOR: Sarah J Maas
NARRATOR: Elizabeth Evans
PUBLICATION DATE: September 1, 2015 / September 1, 2015
PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury USA Children’s / Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
LENGTH: 648 pages / 20 hours 18 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Review copy via Audible
RATING: 5 bows

Summary from Audible:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire – for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…. She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight. She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Alrighty, so we get the same players we saw in Heir Of Fire, along with Lysandra who I adore. I’d really like to get a lot more from her perspective. I was actually a little more interested in her story than I was with Celaena/Aelin’s in this installment. It’s all about her or Manon. I still don’t really love Manon. I liked her much more here, she’s growing on me, but I didn’t care what was going on in her storyline. I just waited for it to be over and we could get back to the main plot.

Then we have the love triangle….rectangle….pentagon? I’m not sure where it’s all going. I’ve been mostly Team Dorian (with a few Chaol moments slipped in) so the fact that my shipped has sank is pretty depressing. I’m not really on board with the Rowan train Aelin seems to have commandeered. He’s a pretty boy, but he’s too perfect. He’s a goodie-goodie and that’s not really my style. I can see the appeal of Chaol, but Dorian is it for me. And seeing as how he completely fell in love someone else in the last book and that someone subsequently lost her head, I don’t think that is going to go anywhere, much to my annoyance.

The majority of this novel is planning for Aelin overthrowing the king’s reign of tyranny and free the various countries he has conquered. It’s a lot of build-up to that final fight scene at the end. Because of that, a great deal of it was slow. You get a bit of action interspersed with many dialogue scenes and recovery scenes.

I must say that I seemed to be the black sheep of fans of this series. Every review I’ve seen or read talks about how it’s build up to be better and better with each book and how they enjoy each book so much more than the last. I don’t necessarily feel the same way. I feel like each subsequent book has lived up to Throne Of Glass, but none has surpassed it yet. Throne Of Glass has this addictive fast-paced story that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I had to know more. I needed the next chapter. For me, that was the best. If I had to rank them in order from favorite to least favorite, it would follow the order of the series. That’s not to say I don’t love all of them or don’t recommend all of them, just that the first is still the best.

Audio Notes:
Elizabeth Evans has been fantastic through-out this entire series. I really hope she gets to narrate the next one as well!

****Thank you to Esther Bochner at Audible for providing me with an audio copy in exchange for an honest review****

5 bows
Tabitha's signature

4 thoughts on “Review for Queen Of Shadows (Throne Of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas

  1. I only skimmed this review, as I haven’t read this yet. But I caught some things, mostly the romance. That’s the one aspect I hate about this series! But, I’ve always been #TeamChaol fro the start, and I just know that my heart will break by the end of this.

  2. I agree with so much of this review! Manon is a character I just feel ‘meh’ about – I don’t really like nor dislike her, she’s just a tad boring. And omg, the Ronan/Aelin ship seems so forced. For me, I think ToG was the best book in the series, and that everything that happened in that book is just being undone the further we get into the series.

    Great review, and if you’re a black sheep in the fandom, so am I!

    Sophie @ Sophie Reads YA

    • She is! I’m in the same boat, especially in Heir Of Fire. Every time it would switch to her perspective, I just wanted to fast-forward back to Celaena. It really does feel forced! From the first minute she starts training with him, I could just feel the plot being pushed in that direction. I think maybe she’d wrote herself into a corner with the Chaol/Dorian triangle and instead of trying to fix it, she just tosses it out and brings in a new love interest.

      I’m glad I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

