Blog Tour for Get Real (Get Real #1) by Tellulah Darling

GetRealTourBanner1

Get Real by Tellulah Darling

TITLE: Get Real
SERIES: Get Real #1
AUTHOR: Tellulah Darling
PUBLISHER: Te Da Media
PUBLICATION DATE: September 26th 2015
LENGTH: 358 pages
RATING: 5 bows
BUY LINK: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add To GoodReads icon

DESCRIPTION

Magic and Mayhem in Manhattan

Francesca Bellafiore comes from a nice Jewish family — one that happens to have magical powers. Underneath her good-girl exterior, though, she’s a wannabe badass with dreams of becoming a paranormal detective.

Party boy Rafael Muñoz does everything possible to publicly disappoint his high profile father. Privately, it’s a different story. His carefully crafted bad boy reputation masks the fact he’s a master illusionist, forced into solo covert ops. The role is wearing thin and Rafael longs to be part of a team.

When Francesca and Rafael meet, it’s love at first sight… For about five minutes. Rafael is spectacularly attractive—and, Francesca discovers, fully aware of the fact. Rafael knows from experience that girls like Francesca are more trouble than they’re worth.

So it sucks big time when they’re caught in a web of magic, minions, secrets, and enough sexual tension to power NYC. Their only chance to save the city and survive is to team up, trust each other–and maybe even fall in love.
Provided they don’t kill each other first.

Get Real is a romantic comedy, urban fantasy whirlwind with sass, sex, and swoon.

GIVEAWAY

Enter to win a signed copy of Get Real and a Get Real wristband with a quote from the book
a Rafflecopter giveaway

MY REVIEW

Though they don’t realize it initially, Francesca and Rafa have a great deal in common. They are both being pushed into a role that they don’t want by their family. For both situations, I felt sympathy for the character. Francesca doesn’t want to disapoint her family, but she desperately doesn’t want to be a healer either. That’s not where her heart lies, even though she knows it is what her family wants for her. Right from the beginning, I really liked both characters and I was very interested in how they would react to each other. I liked that there wasn’t instant attraction. Both obviously noticed the others physical attributes, but once they started talking, sparks flew and not necessarily in a good way. They have a little bit of that I hate you until I love you thing going on.

What I loved about this was the interesting new world we get a glimpse of without being overwhelmed with. In many things where we get a magical new world, I feel like we get too much information for my brain to process. That’s why I always shy away from anything labeled fantasy because I get lost in all the details. Darling introduces this world in an easy to digest way that still keeps you wanting more. Even by the end of this, you know there are still things you don’t understand. At the same time, the world doesn’t feel like the main focus. The main thing, at least to me, was the relationship between Francesca and Rafa. It’s that relationship, fraught with tension, that really kept me enthralled.

The mystery was also pretty intense. Where did this girl come from? What is with her powers? What is it she wants? How the hell are Rafa and Francesca supposed to figure it out while also avoiding their parents and not getting themselves killed?

I don’t think I loved this quite as much as I loved Darling’s Blooming Goddess Trilogy. Something about Sophie’s voice and world immediately hooked me whereas this took me a little longer to get into. But this was almost as good! It’s a sexy new adult that doesn’t feature main characters with a tragic backstory. It’s a paranmoral new adult. I know those exist, but I’ve yet to read any of them. If this is what I can expect from them, I’ll add all that I can find to be TBR!

****Thank you to Tellulah Darling & Xpresso Book Tours for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review****

5 bows

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tellulah Darling
Tellulah Darling
noun

Sassy girls. Swoony boys. What could go wrong?

1) YA & New Adult romantic comedy author because her first kiss sucked and she’s compensating.
2) Firm believer that some of the best stories happen when love meets comedy and awkwardness ensues.
3) Sassy minx.

Both a hopeless romantic and total cynic, Tellulah Darling is all about the happily-ever-after, with a huge dose of hilarity along the way. Her romcoms come in a variety of flavours and heat levels.

Contact Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

Xpresso Reads Blog Tour

Tabitha's signature

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour for Get Real (Get Real #1) by Tellulah Darling

  1. I’m the same way with fantasy and sci-fi, I get way lost in the world and politics so I’m very picky about the books I read in those genres. This one sounds like a very well written book in that aspect. I like that it has a good mystery element, too! Glad you liked it! 🙂

    • It’s so easy to get lost in the world! I read a lot of reviews/hear people talk about the expansive worlds in fantasy and how much they love it and it makes me really shy away from a series. I’ve always been more character driven, so the world isn’t necessarily what I want to focus on!

Leave a Reply

