Review for Finding Cinderella (Hopeless #2.5) by Colleen Hoover

Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover

TITLE: Finding Cinderella
SERIES: Hopeless #2.5
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
NARRATOR: Jason Carpenter
PUBLICATION DATE: October 14, 2013 / July 8, 2014
PUBLISHER: Atria Books/ Simon & Schuster Audio
LENGTH: 337 pages / 10 hours 33 minutes
FORMAT: Paperback / Audio
SOURCE: Purchased / Borrowed
RATING: 5 bows

Summary from GoodReads:

This novella is a companion novel to the Hopeless series, but can be read as a standalone.

A chance encounter in the dark leads eighteen-year-old Daniel and the girl who stumbles across him to profess their love for each other. But this love comes with conditions: they agree it will only last one hour and it will only be make-believe.

When their hour is up and the girl rushes off like Cinderella, Daniel tries to convince himself that what happened between them only seemed perfect because they were pretending it was perfect. Moments like that with girls like her don’t happen outside of fairytales.

One year and one bad relationship later, his disbelief in insta-love is stripped away the day he meets Six: a girl with a strange name and an even stranger personality. Daniel soon realizes the way he pretended to feel about Cinderella and the way he really feels about Six may not be so different after all. Especially when the two loves of his life end up being one in the same.

Unfortunately for Daniel, finding Cinderella doesn’t guarantee their happily ever after…it only further threatens it.

I almost have to say that I loved Daniel even more than I loved Holder. Seriously, he is that awesome. He had me grinning like a moron the entire way through this. He’s so fucking funny. Seriously, I listened to this whole thing while running or walking on a treadmill, but I still smiled and laughed throughout the whole thing. That should speak volumes. I am not a big fan of treadmills, so anything that keeps me happy during that is a miracle.

Six is everything I expected her to be after seeing her through Sky’s eyes. She’s smart and doesn’t give a shit about anyone else’s opinion. I also just loved her for her dedication to Sky.

What is magical about this is Colleen’s ability to make a twist I didn’t see coming at all. My jaw hit the floor when the twist occurred. There aren’t even words for how hard that twist hit me. I wasn’t expecting this to have such heartbreak. I was just expecting a bit of amusing fluff. WRONG.

Audio Notes:
Jason Carpenter does a great job at bringing Daniel to life. He has the prefect voice for the character, that right mix of serious and snarky to play Daniel to perfection. I’ll definitely check out more of his work!

5 bows
Tabitha's signature

2 thoughts on “Review for Finding Cinderella (Hopeless #2.5) by Colleen Hoover

    • You should! I LOVED Hopeless, but I almost think I liked this one more….maybe…or not. They are both so great. But yes, prepare for heartbreak! I was not at all prepared!

Leave a Reply

