Book Tag Thursday – Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Who is ready for week 2 Book Tag Thursday? This week I’ll be doing the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag. It was created by The Book Archer and you can view her original video here. As always, I did not create this tag, The Book Archer did. If anyone bloggers out there want to join me, feel free to leave a link to you’re post in the comments, I’d love to see them. Or for anyone else out there who doesn’t have a blog, feel free to leave some of you’re unpopular opinions in the comments so I’ll feel a little less alone. The adorable tag banner was created by Debby over at Snuggly Orange, where I first saw this tag. You can view her post by clicking here or on her awesome graphic.

Unpopular

1. A popular book or series you didn’t like
Real by Katy Evans, Days Of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor, & The Girl Of Fire & Thorns by Rae Carson
With Real, I pretty much hated everything about it. I hated the characters, I hated the story, I especially hated the way they portray mentally illness. I just don’t understand the hype at all. I wanted to love Days Of Blood & Starlight. I adored The Daughter Of Smoke & Bone and I was so excited to get the sequel. I went in to this so excited, but the first half is just terrible. It’s slow and dull. It switches to perspectives I just have no interest in at all. It was painful to get through. Once I got to the halfway, it gets better. I rather enjoyed the second half, but I don’t know if that makes up for the travesty that was the first half. Then we have The Girl of Fire & Thorns which I absolutely hated. It was a love triangle…square…something and none of that ends well. Plus it was overly religious. I felt like it was pushing it in my face. I just didn’t like it at all and I don’t understand how so many people adore it.

2. A book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love
Dead(ish) by Naomi Kramer
I had a very difficult time answering this one. I had to have GoodReads rank everything I’ve read by general opinion. This was at the top of the list. There isn’t much to say about it. It’s a little novella about a dead girl wanting revenge on those who killed her. It’s snarky and short and I really enjoyed it. Apparently I was the only one.

3. A Love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to
Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone by J K Rowling, The Vampire Diaries by L J Smith, & Chameleon by Kelly Oram
Harry Potter is the biggest one. Let me preface this statement with the fact that I have not finished the series. My husband and I are getting ready to start audiobooking the entire thing so I can complete it, but as of this writing, I have no finished them. I always thought Harry would end up with Hermione. I always pictured them together. I was genuinely shocked to see the HP film promos of Hermione kissing Ron. I can’t really give a reason why, that’s just always how I saw it playing out. Then we have The Vampire Diaries. I’m 100% Team Damon. It’s not that I don’t like Stefan, he’s fine, I just fell head over heels for Damon, especially in The Return. There is a scene in the 5th book where Elena steps in between a man and the pregnant slave he’s beating, and Damon almost kills the man. Not because he was abusing someone, not because he’s a dick, but because he hurt Elena. That scene just stuck with me and the conviction in him when he make that speech. Just swwwooonnnnn. Finally we have Chameleon by Kelly Oram. I liked both love interests, but Russell was my favorite character in the entire book, so I was definitely rooting for him. Besides, I’m a big fan of the who friends turn into more thing. And Russell really loves her. He is getting punished for things that are out of his control and I hate that. I just want to give the poor guy a hug.

4. A book genre you hardly reach for
I’m very burned out on the dystopian thing lately.

5. A beloved character that you do not like
The Dante Walker Series by Victoria Scott
Dante Walker irritated me right from the start. I soldiered on because I thought it would get better, that he would grow as a character and improve…but he doesn’t. He’s stupid and whiny and a big pansy. That is such a let-down because I heard such amazing things about this new Daemon Black-esque character. Hint? He’s nothing like Daemon Black.

6. A popular author you can’t seem to enjoy
That would be Nora Roberts. I am a romance novel junkie and I always have been. Nora Roberts is one of the first names to come up when you start discussing that genre with anyone, but I don’t like her books. I’ve read two different novels by her and they were both rather bland. They weren’t bad, but they weren’t amazing in that best selling author way I was expecting.

7. A popular trope you’re tired of seeing
I don’t think this counts as a trope, but I’m so sick of cliffhangers that I could scream. Seriously, can we wrap things up properly at the end of a novel? This really irks me for two reasons. One, the publishing process is not a quick thing and there is usually a year or longer wait between books. I have to wait a year! And it feels like a cheap tactic to get me to buy the next novel. Beyond that, I have a personal gripe. I cannot love a story that ends badly. I want my characters to live happily ever after and achieve their goals. When I novel ends badly, I rate it badly. How am I supposed to rate a novel when the life of a character hangs in the balance? Can we just stop with it? Please? You don’t need to resort to such a low strategy to get me excited about you’re final book. Trust me, if it’s well written, I’m already excited. If it wasn’t, a cliffhanger isn’t going to endear you to me.

8. A popular series you have no interest in reading
A Game Of Thrones by George R R Martin, Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, & Anything by Tolkien
Yeah, there are a bunch of these. I could go into detail about why I’m not interested in any of these, but basically what it boils down to is they aren’t for me. Throne Of Glass is just too massive, Divergent isn’t going to end well, The Fault In Our Stars definitely doesn’t end well, The Maze Runner film put the idea of ever reading the books out of my mind, and I’ve tried to read Tolkien and it bores me. Seriously, I don’t care about the hobbits and I have no interest in reading 10 page descriptions of the scenery. On one related note, I did not like The Maze Runner film, something else I’m in the minority on, but to see exactly what my problems were with that film, please refer to the CinemaSins video on the subject. You can see it here. If you are a big fan and don’t want to see it poked fun at, please steer clear, but otherwise, ENJOY!

9. A movie or TV show that was better than the book
Howl's Moving Castle by Diane Wynne Jones & Stardust by Neil Gaiman
Both film incarnations just seemed to add to the magic of the story rather than take away from it. With both, I saw the films first, so that storyline was already set in my mind when I read the books, but I genuinely liked the changes that were made and I can see why they were done. These are two of my favorite films. Stardust is definitely in my all time top ten list.

10. Tag! You’re it!
I tag anyone interested in doing this tag. Go for it!

That’s it! What do you think? Am I missing out on the books I’ll never read? Am I missing something big on the ones I hated? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “Book Tag Thursday – Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! My husband likes both, but prefers the book. I just thought the movie was so clever and added more to it with it’s changes.

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

