Book Tag Thursday – Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag 2015

Who loves book tags? I see them and I always get so excited about them. They always look like so fun and I plan to do them, but then things get in the way and it doesn’t happen. Well no more, I say! From here until I run out of tags, I’ll be doing a tag each Thursday. Just to be clear, I did not create any of the tags I will be doing. Each week I’ll highlight who created the tag and link to the original. If anyone out there is blog land wants to join me, you are more than welcome to. Leave a link to you’re post in the comments and I’ll be sure to check it out. If anyone out there has created a tag you’d like to see me do, send me an email at jeep_wrangler_girl@yahoo.com and I’ll happily schedule a day. Or if there is just a tag you’ve seen that you’d like me to do, comment away and I’ll get on it!

This week I’ll be doing the Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag created by Chami and Ely at A Book So Fathomless and you can view their post here or on the picture below. Admittedly, it’s a little late to do this tag because most people did it in June/July, but I wanna do it, so I’m gonna! I’m going to try very hard not to repeat any books in this, so wish me luck! If I have a review up for the books I choose, I’ll link that to the corresponding picture. If not, I’ll link it to the GoodReads page.

capture-20150526-205924

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015.
Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
This was an incredibly difficult question to answer. I’ve read quite a few fantastic books this year, but this stands out. It’s smart and funny and sweet beautifully tackles the topic of teen homosexuality.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015.
Cress by Marissa Meyer
This book is my favorite in the series thus far. It easily tops Cinder, which I adored. Cress was an immensely enjoyable character and her obsession with Captain Thorn was hilariously sweet. This is an even bigger adventure than Cinder was.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
Confess by Colleen Hoover
It goes without saying that I need to read all of Colleen’s work. ALL THE COLLEEN BOOKS!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
Winter by Marissa Meyer
Given how much I loved Cress, is it any surprise that Winter is my most anticipated release? I need to see how this series concludes, though I’m not ready for it to end. I’m really excited about getting to know Princess Winter better.

5. Biggest disappointment.
Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu
I LOVED Haydu’s OCD Love and Life By Committee, so I was very excited about this book. What awesome thing awaited me next? But I found this to be mediocre. I wasn’t a huge fan of the main character or any of her decisions. She was reckless and impulsive and judgemental. Also, the book has an ending that doesn’t provide you any closure.

6. Biggest surprise.
Flat-Out Celeste by Jessica Park
I was expecting to enjoy this, but I ended up loving it. It took me by surprise because I just wasn’t expecting it to pack as much of an emotional punch as it does. I highly recommend it.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)
Sarah J Maas
I’ve read ACOTAR and Throne Of Glass and I’m currently listening to Crown Of Midnight. All of the new-to-me authors I’ve read this year have been extremely enjoyable, but I feel like I need to read more than one book by any author before I can put a “favorite” label on it.

8. Newest fictional crush.
The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram & Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover
Grayson is adorable cute and sweet, though he portrays that jock image a little too well. He completely won me over with his sweet dedication to Avery. Daniel won me over with humor. This novella was tiny, but he kept me laughing out loud throughout the entire thing.

9. Newest favorite character.
Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
Will was just so snarky and bookish that I can’t help but love him.

10. Book that made you cry.
Model Misfit by Holly Smale
Books do not make me cry often. It’s partly because it takes a lot to make me cry and partly because I avoid sad books like the plague. This book made me cry, but not in a sad way. I could have easily answered almost any question in this tag with this book. It was perfect and it’s perfection literally brought me to tears. I smiled and cried like a maniac after finishing, seriously, just because I loved it so much.

11. Book that made you happy.
The Improbable Theory Of Ana & Zak by Brian Katcher
This book had me smiling from start to finish. From the pop culture references to the ridiculous high jinks to the sweet love story. It’s entirely entertaining.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year.
The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
I believe this is the only book to movie adaptation I’ve seen this year that I’ve really enjoyed. Now Mockingjay Part 2 isn’t out yet, so that may knock this out of the water, but I really enjoyed The DUFF. It reminded me so much of the high school romcoms I loved in my high school years. It pushed me to read the book, which is somewhat different, but just as awesome.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year.
The Warrior by Victoria Scott
I generally enjoy my rantier reviews more than I do my gushing ones. 🙂

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Gray
This book is just pretty! I love the cover art and the velvety feel of the cover.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
The rest of The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
I’m super excited about the upcoming Shadowhunters TV show and I’m trying to finish up the book series before that show starts next year!

That was pretty fun! Next week I’ll be doing the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag, so stay tuned!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Book Tag Thursday – Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag 2015

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

