Bookish Confessions

I have a few things to confess. You hear all these things in the bookish community about people’s love of this and that, re-reading and the horror of dog-eared pages. I don’t always have the same opinions as everyone else, so I thought I’d share!

1. The first time I tried to read Harry Potter And The Sorcerer’s Stone, I didn’t like it.
Maggie Smith shocked gif
In my defense, I was in elementary school and the first chapter is so fucking boring. Seriously, going through the Dursley’s day is not something I was prepared for. When I was in middle school, a close friend wouldn’t stop harassing me until I finished it and I loved it…once I got past the first chapter.

2. Speaking of Harry Potter, I still haven’t finished the series.
Scott Pilgrim shocked gif
When I finally got into it, I devoured books 1 through 4. I re-read them constantly and was very impatient for book 5. I waited two damn years for that book and I didn’t like it! I felt cheated. I waited for this thing and then I got that stupid prophecy and my favorite character dies. Nope, I was done. I do want to finis the series, but I think I’m going to audiobook the whole thing because I hear those are amazing.

3. I don’t really re-read books anymore.
The Emperor's New Groove Shocked gif
There are a lot of books I love enough to want to re-immerse myself in their world, but I feel guilty every time I do. There are so many new amazing books out there and I know that it is physically impossible to read every book on my TBR pile in a lifetime. So I should read new stuff…and I do. I give in sometimes. I recently re-read the first three Mortal Instruments books and I’ve listened to audios of books I already read like Pushing The Limits or Cinder, but on a whole I just feel too guilty to enjoy the experience. 😦

4. I break the spines on mass market paperbacks.
Liar Liar shocked gif
For the longest time, I really thought seeing mass market paperbacks in thrift stores meant no one had read them! I mean, have you tried to read mass market paperbacks without breaking the spine? It feels impossible, especially in the middle! I just feel like breaking the spine shows love for it. It makes the novel look well-read. Mass markets are the only ones this applies to.

5. English was not my favorite class in school. It was one of my least favorite classes.
Big Bang Theory What gif
I really don’t like most classic novels and those are the main books you read in those classes. Also, even though I love to read, I have a very difficult time reading things I have to read. My favorite classes were Japanese and Chemistry!

6. I dog-eared many a page in high school.
Foster's Home For Imaginary Friends shocked gif
I don’t do that now, I’ve moved on to actual book marks or random scraps of paper, but I didn’t realize that was a major faux paw.

7. I am not the biggest fan of libraries.
Lilo & Stitch shocked gif
I love the idea and the concept, but I want to OWN all the books, not BORROW them!

I think that’s it for now! What do you think? Do you fall on my odd side of the fence or have a lost my damn mind? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “Bookish Confessions

  1. I’m so with you on #1 and #7!

    It took me a long time to get into Harry Potter. I started reading it in like third grade or something and just couldn’t click with it at all. Even to this day I still don’t love the first book. It’s not my style. It feels too middle grade. But I love the books when they turn into more intense young adult!

    And as for #7, this is something I never admitted because people are so fiercely protective of their libraries. I’m not against the IDEA of libraries — I’m all for that. They’re just not for me. I feel like some people react to this statement like it’s a crime, but surely I’m equally supporting the author (if not MORE) by BUYING the book instead of borrowing it. 😉

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who had a hard time getting through it! I liked the first one, just not quite as much as 2, 3, and 4.

      Exactly! I was really hesitant to add 7 because I wasn’t sure how everyone was going to react. I think they are great, but they just remind me of all the books I don’t have but want. I do utilize their audiobook library, but that’s about it!

  2. Pingback: September 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

