Review for Breathless In Love (The Maverick Billionaires #1) by Bella Andre & Jennifer Skully

Breathless In Love by Bella Andre & Jennifer Skully

TITLE: Breathless In Love
SERIES: The Maverick Billionaires #1
AUTHOR: Bella Andre & Jennifer Skully
NARRATOR: Eva Kaminsky
PUBLICATION DATE: June 10, 2015 / August 25, 2015
PUBLISHER: Maverick Oak Press LLC / Maverick Oak Press
PAGES: 400 pages / 9 hours 48 minutes
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Review copy via Audible
RATING: 4 bows

Summary from Audible:

Meet the Maverick Billionaires, an exciting and emotional contemporary romance series about sexy, self-made men from the wrong side of town who survived hell together and now have everything they ever wanted. But when each Maverick falls head-over-heels for an incredible woman he never saw coming, he will soon find that true love is the only thing he ever really needed….

Will Franconi has a dark past that he’s kept a closely guarded secret; very few people have ever heard his real story, and he plans to keep it that way. After surviving a hellish childhood, he’s now living the dream life, where everything he touches turns to gold. But something’s missing. He doesn’t quite know what until a simple letter from a teenage boy brings Harper Newman into his life. A woman who just might fill up the empty places inside him…if only he could ever be worthy of her love.

When a man has more money than he could possibly spend in five lifetimes, Harper has to ask herself what Will Franconi could possibly want from a woman like her. She’s learned the hard way that rich men always get what they want no matter the cost. If it was just herself she had to worry about, Harper would manage, but she’s guardian to her younger brother, who depends on her for everything. After nearly losing his life in a car crash, she’s vowed never to let anyone hurt him ever again. Still, sometimes Harper can’t help but long to change her story from one of an always-cautious woman to an adventurous tale of a heroine who’s wild and free…especially when Will’s kisses and caresses make her utterly breathless. And as he begins to reveal his story to her, she discovers that he’s so much more than just another wealthy, privileged man. He’s kind and giving, and he fills up all the spaces inside of her heart that have been empty for so long. Together can they rewrite their stories into a happily ever after that neither of them had previously thought was possible?

I didn’t love this as much as I expected to…or at all really. I enjoyed it a little, but overall I just found myself annoyed with it. It felt like someone tried to write a romance novel based on a formula for successful romances as opposed to an original idea. Don’t misunderstand me, I’m sure that’s not how this novel came about, but it just felt very bland to me. Exceedingly hot hero? Check! More money than he could possibly spend in his lifetime? Check! Dark(ish) past? Check! Heroine is middle class but amazingly not blinded by his money like EVERYONE else is? Check! I just felt like this had nothing new to offer me.

I didn’t particularly care for either of the main characters. Will is too hard on himself when his past problems were clearly not his fault. Am I the only one sick of the overly hot guy with too much baggage? Where is the normal looking guy who has lived a normal life? I mean, I’m not a writer and I can see how that basic premise is boring, but seriously, I feel like the pretty people with problems thing is a little played out. I get that the whole fantasy aspect of books and we all want to dream about someone with celebrity status good looks, but seriously? I’m over it. I know, he gets prettier and sexier and hotter every time you look at him.
The B In Apartment 23 eye roll gif
Within the first forth of the novel, I’m aware of how attractive you find him. I don’t need to be bashed over the head with it. I will give both authors kudos for not mentioning the one thing I cannot stand in romance novels in general. They made no mention of the size of Mr Franconi’s dick. Big, small, average, I’ll never know and I’m indefinitely more okay with that than hearing over and over how big it is. Even if everything else about this novel irritated me, you have my solid seal of approval on that front.

Harper wasn’t much better. Self-sacrificing and independent to a fault, she didn’t endear herself to me much. The only character I really liked was Harper’s little brother, Jeremy. He was an interesting character, his disability making him much more fascinating. Harper’s reasoning for liking Will more and more didn’t help matters any. She gives him so much credit for common courtesy. He thanks his servers and waiters and drivers and so on. So does most of America, no reason to have a fucking cow.

Basically, this kinda bored me. I listen to audiobooks mainly on my walk to work on weekdays (and my walk home for lunch and my walk back to work and my walk home at the end of the day). Most audiobooks grab my attention and I listen at other times, cleaning or messing around online or whatever and I can just pop my headphones in and become immersed in a story. That was not so with this one. I listened ONLY on my walks. I had no interest in listening more when I got home. There was no point where I was so enraptured that I couldn’t hit the pause button and move on with something else. I got home one afternoon right in the middle of Harper and Will getting it on and I didn’t even finish the scene. That should say it all. I read ROMANCE novels. Obviously, I enjoy smut, but that was just mehish.

On that note, I do have say that had they added just a few more words of dialogue in one particular scene, I probably would have liked it just a touch more. During one of the sex scenes, there is a point where Will says “I want you. I need you.” That brought one particular thing to mind.
10 Things I Hate About You gif
If you don’t know what movie that GIF is from, we have problems, k? That pulled me right out of that headspace and into the 10 Things world. That’s probably not what they wanted, but I would have been so much more satisfied if they’d had an “oh baby” after it.

Audio notes:
Despite the fact that I was spectacularly unimpressed with this novel, I really enjoyed the narrator. Eva does a fantastic job of creating different voices and ways of speaking for each character. It was never unclear which character was speaking each line of dialogue.

****Thank you to Esther Bochner at Audible for providing me with an audio copy in exchange for an honest review****

4 bows
Tabitha's signature

Leave a Reply

