My fitness log – Week 3

We’re back on track this week…sorta. I did make it to they gym, so yay for success. It was on Wednesday, not Tuesday as planned, but we made it and stayed for an hour, so that is the important bit. I have still been walking to work (when it’s not raining), but I have not gone the extra mile by incorporating running into this week. There is no real excuse besides the I don’t wanna and it’s been monstrously humid. I’ll get back on track with that, but the important bit to me is still making it to the gym each week.

As far as the couch to 5K challenge goes, this was my last week of 1 minute running intervals. Next week I must start the 90 second running intervals and I’m pretty terrified of that. I feel like I can barely make a minute, so how am I supposed to do more? At least this program does 60 seconds to 90 seconds. I’ve seen some that jump from 60 seconds to 120 seconds and I’ve never been able to manage 2 minutes of running more than once. But, after 3 days of running 90 seconds, the program I’m trying to follow has a section where I’m supposed to run for 3 minutes twice and that makes me want to cower under my desk. Since I’m doing to program at a very decelerated rate going only once per week, it will be a while before I get there, but it still terrifies me. I feel like there should be a 2 minute interval before we hit 3 minutes, but it is not so. Let’s just not think about it right now, k? I have to get through the 90 second intervals before I can really worry about that. Besides, I know the whole point of the thing is to push my limits and get my body used to the exertion, but that doesn’t mean it will be easy.

Since I’m also hitting the gym for an hour instead of 30 minutes, I do A LOT more walking than the Couch To 5K challenge says to. After I complete the required challenge, I may try to do an interval or two more running, it just depends on how my legs feel. Not the tiredness level, but if my shins feel like they are going to explode or not. That is a big reason I’m breaking this down and starting on a once a week basis instead of 3 times a week, because I get shin splints. I’ve done quite a bit of reading on it, but it doesn’t seem like there is much to do to prevent it or help it. Just elevate and ice the shin, take ibprofen or Tylenol, and rest. Wear good shoes and don’t overtax your body. The last time I tried to do the Couch to 5K challenge at the intended level, shins splints caused me to quit. Since I’ve slowed it down, I haven’t had much of a problem with it, just the occasional pain but nothing debilitating.

I still really enjoy that jelly-legged feeling when it’s all over. I love stepping off the treadmill getting that weird walking on normal ground feeling. It doesn’t last long enough, in my opinion. I’m also starting to understand a little of that whole exercise-is-energizing thing people are always going on and on about. I don’t get that awesome endorphin high yet, but I don’t necessarily want to collapse into the couch when I get home, so that’s progress I think. I know my short term goal is to lose a little weight and shape up some, but my long term goal is to really learn to enjoy exercise. I want to be one of those people who goes for 5 mile runs several times a week like they can’t even contemplate the idea of skipping their exercise because it’s so vital to their happiness.

On a somewhat unrelated side note, I mentioned I listen to audiobooks at the gym. It’s one of the rewards and right now, it’s Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover. I’m almost finished with it and last night I got to that part. I can’t tell you what part because it’s spoilery, but I got to that part when Six makes her confession and I almost stopped walking on the treadmill. That hit me square in the gut and I wasn’t expecting it at all. I was not expecting that at all and I don’t know what to do with that information. I think I can relate to Daniel quite a bit on that level. I had just been thinking how weird and awesome it was that Colleen wrote a book that wasn’t heart-breaking. She actually just did something fun and somewhat light-hearted and then I get smacked with that and learn I was ssssoooo wrong. ::dies::

Anyhow, this was a good week. I hope I can produced a similar post for next week! Are any of you challenging your couch-potato demons? Do you love running? Do you know exactly how I felt at that moment in Finding Cinderella? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “My fitness log – Week 3

  1. Pingback: June 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

