Flirting Fails inspired by The Promise Of Amazing by Robin Constantine (& Giveaway)

Robin Constantine is quickly becoming one of my favorite YA contemporary authors. The Promise Of Amazing is pretty awesome and The Secrets Of Attraction is even better. They both showcase the best and the worst of dating advice. I was relatively lucky when I was younger, never really doing anything over the top to grab a crush’s attention….or if I did, I’ve blocked it out. But regardless of whether or not you act on it, there is always advice in abundance from your friends on how to make that special someone notice you. The worst among those for me was always the line about pretending to like whatever it is they like just to show you have common interests. Every romcom movie or show can show you how that’s a bad idea because you invariably end up in a situation where your fake love is put to the test and found wanting. However, in the heat of the moment, it always seems like a good idea. One of my bigger blunders was faking interest in basketball to catch a guys attention. I have no interest in sports what-so-ever, so I know nothing about basketball except that the main goal is to put the ball through the hoop. I was hanging out with a group of people at a friends house one afternoon and my crush was sitting on the coach watching a basketball game. I oh-so-causally plopped down on the sofa beside him and he immediately started talking about how he loved the sport. My overenthusiastic response about loving the sport as well gave the impression that I knew all about and he was quickly asking my opinions on different teams and recent games. That definitely didn’t go well. I think I was hoping he’d be more of a quiet type or just talk about his opinions so I can agree with them instead of asking me what I thought. After that, my biggest bit of advice to anyone is just to be yourself. It sounds cliche, but really, why spend time lying about things to get someone to like you? What happens when they realized you lied about things? Beyond that, what happens when you are going on dates with someone you have no common interests with because you faked enthusiasm for things you really don’t care about? That doesn’t sound like a fun way to spend time to me! Robin’s books have a good bit of that message in them. Just be yourself!

The Promise Of Amazing by Robin Constantine

TITLE: The Promise Of Amazing
AUTHOR: Robin Constantine
PUBLICATION DATE: December 31, 2015
PUBLISHER: Balzar + Bray
PAGES: 371 pages
RATING: 4 Bows
MY REVIEW: here

Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who’s always done what she’s supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.

One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

The Secrets Of Attraction by Robin Constantine

TITLE: The Secrets Of Attraction
AUTHOR: Robin Constantine
PUBLICATION DATE: April 28, 2015
PUBLISHER: Balzar + Bray
PAGES: 384 pages
RATING: 5 Bows
MY REVIEW: Check back here on April 3rd to check out my review!

Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine’s debut novel follows two New Jersey teens as they become friends and fall in love. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Mlynowski, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Madison Pryce thinks she’s got everything figured out—she’s working on a portfolio for a summer art program and hanging with her friends. Plus she has her hot boyfriend, Zach. But then a visit from a family friend turns Maddie’s life upside down.

Jesse McMann is still reeling from a breakup that shattered his heart and his band. Then pride (and some goading from his bass player and fellow barista) forces him to find a new drummer—and the inspiration to write music again.

Kismet arrives in the unlikely form of Grayson Barrett, who tries out for Jesse’s band, and whose girlfriend is BFFs with the cute girl who orders a chai latte after yoga every Thursday: Maddie. What Jesse and Maddie thought they knew about the secrets of attraction and the rules of romance changes once they start falling for each other.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Robin Constantine
Robin Constantine is the author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction. A born-and-raised Jersey girl, Robin likes to spend her days dreaming up stories where love conquers all, eventually, but not without a lot of peril, angst, and the occasional kissing scene. She loves swoony books, flip-flops, dark chocolate and the full moon.

Contact Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads | Pinterest | Instagram | Blog | Tumblr

GIVEAWAY

I’ve been generously provided with a paperback copy of The Promise Of Amazing to give to a lucky follower. In addition to that, I have a little TPOA swag in my possesion, so I’ll do two winners. The first prize is the novel and the second is a swag back. This giveaway is US only. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tabitha's signature

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Flirting Fails inspired by The Promise Of Amazing by Robin Constantine (& Giveaway)

  1. Worst advice? I don’t think there have been any that was horrible, but some guy did tell me to put myself out there more and just have fun. But in the sleeping around area —

  2. Pingback: March 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s