Life Of A Blogger #66

Life Of A Blogger banner

Weekly feature created by Jessi at Novel Heartbeats to discuss one non-bookish topic per week. For more information about this feature click here

This week’s topic: Organization

I love organizing things, but it always seems like it falls apart after I get it all straight. I’ll get it all set and pretty and then neither me nor my husband will make the effort to keep it that way. So it goes from need to a mess within a few days. I’m still woefully behind on unpacking. I moved in March of last year and I still have a room full of boxes of things I’m not entirely sure where to put. We call it the room of doom. We keep saying we’ll unpack and organize it, but we haven’t yet. Hell, even my library is a mess right now because my dad is in the process of making me new bookshelves. He has completed one, but I don’t want to reorganize until I get both.

I’m pretty OCD about how my books are organized. I sort hardbacks first and then paperbacks. Within each section, it goes by height. Within the height, it’s author’s name. Within each author, it’s chronologically by publication date. Every time I explain that to people, they give me funny looks. Wouldn’t be easier, they exclaim, to just do it straight alphabetically? It probably would be easier, but it’s not how I do it! That’s also why I always feel the need to buy entire series in paperback or hardback, because if they are in different formats, they won’t be shelved together.

My movies are easier to navigate. I have the Blu-Rays first and then the DVDs. Movies come first, organized alphabetically, and then TV shows. What really bugs me is when a Blu-Ray comes in a special edition box that’s the size of a DVD box. Or when I have series I don’t know how to organize, like the X-Men movies. You’ve got the first three that are fairly simple, but then you have First Class and Days Of Futures Past and then Origins: Wolverine. How do I sort those? I usually put them in order of release, but that looks so wrong to my alphabetical mind. Luckily, I just have the original three and Wolverine on DVD and then the First Class ones on Blu-Ray, so crisis averted. I actually spend WAAAYYYY too much time contemplating how to work that out. Don’t even get me started on the Lilo & Stitch movie series because that is another headache I try not to think about. ::hides::

What about you? Are you a organizational nut? How do you sort your books? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Life Of A Blogger #66

  1. Pingback: February 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

