Showcase Sunday #69

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuts, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
Books 2-14-15

Gifted
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover – My amazing husband bought this for me for Valentine’s Day. Thank you! I love it! I just need Hopeless, Slammed, and This Girl to have the entire Hoover collection!

For Review
Salt & Stone (Fire & Flood #2) by Victoria Scott – I was beyond shocked when this arrived in the mail last week. I requested to for review MONTHS ago and Scholastic’s response was lukewarm at best. That’s understandable, I don’t run a big blog that get’s a lot of traffic. This little blog has less than 100 followers and gets less than 30 page views on an average day, so I’d give up hope of ever seeing this. And this it arrived! THANK YOU SO MUCH! I really enjoyed Fire & Flood and I’m sure this will be equally awesome. Plus, you know, I got the plain “cover to be revealed” cover which means I won’t have to buy one with that hideous new cover. I know new covers are a great thing that bring more attention to a series, but I HATE the new ones. Anyway, I’m excited to start this!

DIGITAL BOOKS
Amazon Freebies
Debt Inheritance by Pepper WintersShattered Soul by Jennifer SnyderOnly With You by Cecilia Gray
Debt Inheritance (Indebted #1) by Pepper Winters – I’m a bit on the fence on the last novel I read by Winters, Tears Of Tess, but my sister has been singing this one’s praises, so I couldn’t resist it while it was free.
Shattered Soul by Jennifer Snyder – I have yet to read anything by Snyder, but I really want to!
Only With You (The Jane Austen Academy #5) by Cecilia Gray – I really enjoyed the previous books in this series, so I can’t wait to read this!

AUDIO BOOKS
For Review
Frostfire by Amanda Hocking
Frostfire (Kanin Chronicles #1) by Amanda Hocking – I’m sssssoooo excited about this! I really enjoyed the Trylle series and this is a spin-off of that. I’ve already start it and it’s pretty interesting so far!

Funk POP
Swag 2-14-15
I went a little Funko happy again this week. From left to right, this is Angel, Spike, Chandra, Nicol Bolas, Nissa, Garruk, and Ajani. The first two are from Buffy The Vampire Slayer and are the only two of the group that are for me. Angel does look a bit like Dean from Supernatural, but I couldn’t buy Spike with getting Angel, I just couldn’t! Now, I need Buffy! The rest of Magic: The Gathering Characters. Nicol Bolas is what I my husband for Valentine’s Day and the rest I bought because they were all half off! Funkos don’t go on sale often, so I couldn’t resist!

What did you get this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #69

  1. Great haul! I’ve heard awesome things about Colleen Hoover’s books though I’ve never read any of them. They definitely seem pretty good though! I’m hoping to read Fire & Flood before the release of Salt & Stone. I hope you enjoy your books and have a great week! 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    • You should! She does contemporary romance/new adult like a boss. I’d recommend just started with the Slammed series and working your way through her work chronologically from there. I think my favorite of hers (I still haven’t read Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, or Confess) is Finding Cinderella. It’s funnier than her novels typically are and it hit me right in the feels.

      I definitely recommend Fire & Flood and Salt & Stone, but they are both pretty brutal. Salt & Stone especially deals with a lot of difficult moments and character deaths, so have some tissues at hand!

  2. Pingback: February 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

