DNF Round up for 2014

Never in my life did I ever think I’d need to do a post like this. However, there have just been several books this year that have been impossible for me to read. Or rather, impossible for me to finish. I would sit and struggle with these books way past the amount of time I allotted myself to complete them. Yes, I do have a reading schedule with set limits on how long I spend on each book. This seems silly, but I am desperately trying to get through all the E-ARCs I’ve requested through the years and this is the best way to do that. Anyway, I’d sit and struggle with them and think to myself “How much longer is this going to take? How much longer have to endure this before it’s done?” Then a radical idea came to me. I don’t have to finish them. Why am I wasting my time forcing myself to read something I don’t like when I have tons of books that I’m dying to start? Even when I finally do finish, I’ll have to write a negative review. Now, I do take some pleasure in writing the rantier reviews. I’m much more creative in that mode, but even then, the books have a readable quality that allowed me to keep going. This was not the case with these. I’ll give you a brief explanation on why I had to quit, why I just couldn’t go on. Trust me, before this year, I’ve never DNF-ed anything, needing to finish a book due to my OCD tendencies. And not just that. I read to review and I don’t feel like I can truly review anything I don’t finish. Anything can happen once I stop reading. Horrible writing and a boring plot can suddenly become more interesting. Characters can finally develop attributes I want to read about. Anything is possible and I’ll never know what I’m missing until I finish it. The best example of that is Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone. I remember being so excited as a kid to get my hands on it. I immediately started reading…and was bored out of my skull. The first chapter of HP is so boring that I actually put it down and stopped reading it as a child. It was years before I picked back up to give it another try and boy was I shocked when I got past that first chapter. My rather long-winded point is anything is possible. If I read to review and I don’t review what I don’t finish, then I’ve wasted all the time I spent attempting to read something I don’t finish. My solution is this. I’ll do a DNF roundup every so often. I’m hoping it won’t be necessary to do more than once a year to just say a little on why this particular book was not for me.
Here we go!

Night Sky by Suzanne Brockmann & Melanie Brockmann

TITLE: Night Sky
SERIES: Night Sky #1
AUTHOR: Suzanne Brockmann & Melanie Brockmann
PUBLICATION DATE: October 7, 2014
PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Fire
PAGES: 496 pages
FORMAT: E-ARC
SOURCE: Publisher via NetGalley

I really tried to like this. I got an email request to read it and review it. I honestly wasn’t sure I wanted to, but I accidentally clicked the NetGalley link. I figured I had added it to my NetGalley profile, I should give it a shot. The problem was that I absolutely hated it. I got about 150 pages into it before calling it quits. The “slang” they invent for this story was ridiculous and pulled me out of the story. I didn’t like a single character. And this was supposed to be a paranormal, but it also had a dystopian thing going on. The world isn’t the same modern-day America we are used to, but we get no world-building. Just little hints that it’s not the real world. Basically, I hated this whole thing. From page one, I couldn’t get into it. I couldn’t like the characters or care about the story or understand what specific kind of crack these people were smoking. It wasn’t for me at all. How anyone managed to make it through all 500 pages, I’ll never know.

The Boleyn Bride by Emily Purdy

TITLE: The Boleyn Bride
AUTHOR: Emily Purdy
PUBLICATION DATE: October 2, 2014
PUBLISHER: Piatkus
PAGES: 272 pages
FORMAT: Book
SOURCE: Publisher

This is just a case of trying to read the wrong genre. This is historical fiction. I’m strictly romance when it comes to historical novels and there is reason for that. Historical novels tend to end badly. I’ll never really know for sure on this one because I couldn’t past page 50. I tried. I really tried hard, but it was a struggle to make it that far. It took 2 weeks to get 50 pages in and even by that point, I was ready to pull my hair out. I hated the main character. I should be able to sympathize with her because she’s a woman who just lost two of her kids, but she was just such a bitch that I couldn’t. She blames all her problems on her jackass husband and, even though it is partly his fault, some blame lies elsewhere and she refuses to see that. At 50 pages, I didn’t get very deep into the plot, just enough to know that continuing would have not ended well.

Tabitha's signature

4 thoughts on “DNF Round up for 2014

  1. i know just how you feel about not finishing books! i have a certain point (and it’s different w/ different books, so i don’t have a specific page number. i just know the point when i’ve reached it) when i have to stop struggling w/ the story. however, at that point, i skip a few chapters to see if anything has happened that will pique my interest, and if not, i’ll skip to the last couple chapters because, even if i can’t stand the writing/story/whatever, i wanna know how it ends. *laugh*
    SOMETIMES, when i’ve gotten to the point of skipping around, i get sucked back into the story that way. this happened w/ KA’s Own The Wind. i hit a point in that one & i was like “UGH! Tabby, Shy, I love you, but I can’t read any more!” but then i skipped around & ended up going back to the part that was frustrating me at first & could enjoy it at that point.
    whew, sorry, that was long! but i feel ya!! 😀

    • I’ll have to try that. Typically I can make it through almost anything given enough time, but I’m trying to teach myself that it might not be worth it in the end. I recently finished The Warrior by Victoria Scott and hated it. I knew going in that I probably wouldn’t like it, but I requested it for review and was determined to finish it. It took me over a month to get through it, only reading a chapter or two at a time because I literally couldn’t take more than that in a single seating. Was it really worthy my time to mark it as finished and give it a review when there are soooo many other novels I am dying to read?

  2. Pingback: January 2015 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

  3. Pingback: DNF Round up for 2015 | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

