Guest Post – Swag donations for local library

AUTHORS! PUBLISHERS! BLOGGERS! THE LIBRARY NEEDS YOUR SWAG!

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

My name is Lauren Goff and I work at the Gaston County Library in North Carolina. I’ve also worked at two branch libraries. I’ve been working for my library system for a little over six years now and I love books- especially YA books. In an effort to share my love with the teens (and adults!) at our library, I have been in contact with some of you wonderful and lovely authors to get bookmarks and swag to give out to our teens.

Thinking on this, I had the bright idea to set up a SWAG BAG for our teens, filled with all of the little goodies that I get from events and authors and bloggers! My plan had originally been to set this up in the teen area of the main branch library, but when the other branch libraries in our system found out about it, they got excited. My small idea for a little place to give teens fun stuff and authors and publishers a chance to promote their books turned into a challenge to gather enough goodies for all of the branches in my system.

That’s TEN LIBRARIES! Ten places where teens could have a place to pick up swag from their favorite authors, be exposed to new authors and books, and a place where authors and publishers could further promote their books. I will even put in things from book bloggers if they would like to send something to promote their YA book blogs!

My goal is to get our teens (and adults!) excited about reading and to give them a little something for taking the time to visit and support their library as well as reading and supporting their favorite and new favorite authors.

Anything that you can send whether it’s bookmarks, postcards, etc., will be greatly appreciated!

My goal is to have swag bags for all ten libraries and I hope to make this an ongoing thing if I get enough materials to keep it supplied.

If you are interested in donating some swag to the library, please contact me at my email address:

midgetpirateninja@gmail.com

Please put “Swag Donation” or something similar in the subject line so I’ll know that it’s a nice helpful stranger emailing me and not a creepy spam type person!

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to read this and for all of your help!

4 thoughts on “Guest Post – Swag donations for local library

  1. i shared this on my FB & twitter – hopefully some of my author peeps will take a look & contact y’all! : ) i’m also going to and Indie author event in Indy next weekend & will try to pick some stuff up to mail out to ya!! ❤ ya!

Leave a Reply

