Showcase Sunday #47

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuts, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
New books 9-13-14

Purchased
A Spy In The House (The Agency #1) by Y S Lee – So, I have a confession to make. I buy ARCs. Now, before you look up my address to lynch me, I don’t mean I bid absurd amounts of money on ebay to get my hands on something that doesn’t benefit the author or publisher. What I mean is, when I see an ARC at a local store like GoodWill, a place where the book has been donated, then I don’t feel bad paying $1 for it. So anytime you see ARC’s in my purchase pile, that’s why. If I see a book I want for super cheap, I usually don’t pass it up, regardless of the format it’s in. Admitting that probably isn’t a great idea, but it’s the truth. ::shrugs:: Anyway, this looks like an interesting historical/mystery type thing, so it should be entertaining.
Geek Magnet by Kieran Scott – This looks so adorably cute that I couldn’t resist it. 🙂

DIGITAL BOOKS
Amazon Freebies
Mindspeak by Heather SunseriStorm by Brigid KemmererSaving Forever by Jasinda Wilder
Mindspeak (Mindspeak #1) by Heather Sunseri – I was lucky enough to met Heather last weekend at the Pens On Fire event and her book sounds incredibly interesting. When I saw this was free, I couldn’t resist. I hope I can make time to read it soon.
Storm (Elemental #1) by Brigid Kemmerer – I loved this book. I adored this book. I cannot believe Amazon is offering this book free. GIMME! (You can read my review here.)
Saving Forever (The Ever Trilogy #3) by Jasinda Wilder – Amazon freebie but an author I’ve read? GIMME!

SWAG
Swag 9-13-14
One of the perks of being a street team member is swag! I’m keeping the autographed one for me and three or four to add to my giveaway swag box, then the rest go to Lauren to give out at the library!

OTHER NEWS
I did something this week that I’ve never done before. I have officially DNF-ed a book….and I feel terrible. It was Night Sky by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie Brockmann. I struggled to keep going and finally just couldn’t bring myself to keep going. I got about 30% in before I called it quits, but I just couldn’t make myself read more. The characters were shallow and irritated, it was written that I’m going to tell you instead of showing you way, and don’t even get me started on the weird slang. I get that you are trying to create a new world and things will need names, but those were terrible.

That’s all! Did you get anything good this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #47

  1. love the new banner! (it may have been up for a while, but i’m trying to play catch up. LOL)
    that’s so neat that lauren gets to help spread the author love at the library!! love it!
    DNF-ing a book – i can’t actually do that. i may skip large portions of the middle, but always have to “finish” w/ the last couple chapters cuz i have to know how it ends! LOL i do consider that the same thing, tho, if i can’t actually read the whole thing… definitely harder when it’s a book i’ve been looking forward to, too!
    aaaand, i am w/ you on the ARC’s – if they’re at a resale shop, why not buy them?? i mean, it could have been part of an estate or whatever. someone’s going to pick it up.

    oh, and this week i bought Trashy by Cambria Hebert (PB), a 3 book series by MJ Nightingale (ebooks) & 2 books by A.d. Ellis (first one is FREE on amazon today & the 2nd is 99 cents, and they were on my list, so… *click*). : )

    wow, this was a long comment. sorry/not sorry! ; )

    • Thank you! No, I just put it up yesterday. Lauren drew it for me.

      I know. Some days, I’m insanely jealous, but on others, I’m glad I don’t have her job. XP

      This is the first time I have ever DNF-ed something and I feel terribly, but it was torture trying to read it. It literally took me three weeks to get through 150 pages and I just couldn’t take anymore.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! Sometimes I feel bad about it, but it’s $1 and I can’t pass up a good book!

      Ooooo! Let me know how it is! I’ve been rather curious it! I’ve never heard of M J Nightingale or A D Ellis, but I’ll add them to my list!

      No problem! I like long comments!

  2. Pingback: September 2014 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

