Life Of A Blogger #43

Life Of A Blogger banner

Weekly feature created by Jessi at Novel Heartbeats to discuss one non-bookish topic per week. For more information about this feature click here

This week’s topic: Where were you 13 years ago

I was in seventh grade. I was in school. I don’t remember every detail of that day, but I remember the shock and aw of everyone around me. I remember that we did nothing but watch TV in every class. I was lucky enough to not know anyone in New York City and to have no friends or family flying anywhere, so I didn’t know anyone who was killed or injured in that terrible tragedy.

Something that is hard for me to admit now is that when it happened, I didn’t understand what the big deal was. As a kid, I had a hard time empathizing with people. I lived in NC, far from New York and I couldn’t understand why everyone was upset. We didn’t know these people. We weren’t directly effected by it, so what was the big deal? I am now appalled that it was one of my initial thoughts, but it was. I didn’t understand the magnitude of it or it’s implications.

Where were you on that fateful day? School? Work? Home? And were you old enough to grasp what was happening? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

Leave a Reply

