Showcase Sunday #41

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuts, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
New books 8-2-14

Purchased
Fairy Bad Day by Amanda Ashby – It sounds cute and funny….plus I’m a sucker for word plays.

Won
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell from Natalie at Book Lovers Life – Thank you! After reading Attachments, I want to get my hands on everything else this woman writes!

DIGITAL BOOKS
Amazon Freebies
Obsidian by Jennifer L ArmentroutOn The Rocks by Sawyer BennettThe Paper Magician by Charlie N Holmberg
Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L Armentrout – THIS WAS FREE ON AMAZON! FREE! FREE! FREE! ….I think you get the point, right?
On The Rocks (Last Call #1) by Sawyer Bennett – I have yet to read any of her work, but my sister loves her to bits, so I always grab her novels when I see them for free.
The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #1) by Charlie N Holmberg – Amazon Prime perk, getting this free. Let’s hope it’s good!

For Review
Edelweiss
Liars, Inc by Paula StokesGeek Girl by Holly SmaleSimon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky AlbertalliA Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
Liars, Inc by Paula Stokes – I loved (loved loved) The Art Of Lainey and I plan to read everything else Paula writes (under any pseudonym). When I saw this on Edelweiss, I couldn’t resist! ::flails:: I’m so excited!
Geek Girl (Geek Girl #1) by Holly Smale – I actually won a UK edition of the second book in this series forever ago and I’ve always wanted to read the first. The description reminds me of a nerdy Georgia Nicolson, so I can’t wait to see if it’s as good as it sounds.
Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – After reading Fan Art by Sarah Tregay, I’m very interesting in reading more stories like it and this sounds very similar!
A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas – A fairy tale retelling about what happens after “happily ever after”? Gimme!

NetGalley
Night Sky by Suzanne Brockmann & Melanie Brockmann
Night Sky (Night Sky #1) by Suzanne Brockmann & Melanie Brockmann – I was invited to read this, so I’ll give it a try!

SWAG
Mockingjay Part I ticket and pin
Last weekend, Best Buy & Samsung were having a promotion that if you watch the new Mockingjay Part 1 trailer at a participating store on a Samsung tablet, you get a free Mockingjay pin and a ticket to see the film. Count me in. Of course my nearest Best Buy wasn’t participating so I had to drive into Charlotte to find one that was, but it was worth it!

OTHER THINGS
Loki
I GOT A BIRD! I wasn’t planning on getting one, it was more of I walked through a local newly opened pet store and there he was. I say “he” but I don’t really know. It requires a blood test to determine the sex and I hate the idea of making him bleed just so I can use the proper pronoun. He’s name is Loki. He is a Green Cheek Conure with a turquoise mutation. He’s four months old. I’ve only had him a half a day or so, but he’s seems very affectionate and loving. He has a small biting issue when I don’t give him his way, but I’ll work on it. Mostly, I’m just excited to have him. I had birds as a kid and he’s the perfect companion. 🙂

That’s all! Did you get anything good this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

One thought on “Showcase Sunday #41

  1. Pingback: August 2014 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

