I’m not dead

This is just a little post to say I’m still around.
Mean Girls waves gif

Things have been a little slow review-wise and post-wise this week and I deeply apologize.
Sucker Punch sorry gif
It’s a combination of this week being finals week and the rampant desire to burn my way through my reading list. Instead of sitting down to start a review as soon as I finish a book, I’ve just been letting them build up…which is probably going to bite me in the ass considering I write much better reviews when the book is still fresh in my mind. I actually have 9 basic marked up drafts (meaning it just has the basic info on the book) on my account right now waiting on me to get to writing.
What Women Want hiding gif

Yeah, that’s gonna be a bitch when I sit down to start cranking out reviews. I promise to not allow that fact to lessen the quality you’ve come to expect from me. I’m just desperate to get the number of E-ARCs down to a more managable number so I’ve been reading like crazy. I don’t mean to be one of those bloggers who just complains about how I have so much to read because I know that makes normal people want to punch me…
Bad Teacher punching gif
But DUDE. When I first started blogging, I had already been reviewing books for a year, so I started with a decent sized TBR pile. Nothing super special or major, just some indie stuff or things I happen across when NetGalley does that whole “the first 500 requesters will be approved” thing. And then I Harlquin Teen and HarperTeen put me on the autoapproved list on Edelweiss…which was a highlight of my lifetime. Seriously, there aren’t words to describe that level of joy. It’s awesome and I’m not saying it to brag, but obviously I went a little request happy. It’s like putting a crack addict in a room full of free drugs. I was higher than a kite in no time flat. The downside is I now feel completely overwhelmed with books. I’m not one of those people who say “whoops, the release date has passed, so I’ll just give it up.” Even if I don’t get a chance to read it before it’s released, it stays on my list until I’ve read and reviewed it. Better late than never and all that jazz.

I’ve tried to give myself some level of self-discipline and not request more…yeah, that didn’t work. I’ve been stricter on what I allow myself to get, but I’ve by no means stopped requesting or downloading. I can’t help it. I don’t really want to, I just want to get the ones I already have taken care of before I add more. I’d like to be able to read a book I just purchased or that’s been sitting on my shelf for a while without feeling guilty because I should be reading one of my review copies. Which is crazy because I don’t think the publishers mean to instill guilt in me…but I requested these books and, in doing so, I made a promise to read them and review them to the best of my ability….I just need to improve my ability.

ANYWAY, all that was my long, rambly way of saying the mini-hiatus is over. I’ll start getting content up again next week and we shouldn’t encounter another break like this for a while. Thank your patience!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “I’m not dead

    • :)) I think it’ll start to pickup for you soon! When I first started blogging, I had a difficult time just coming up with content for 4 days a week and now I feel like I could easily post something everyday…as soon as I write those reviews.!

  1. Pingback: May 2014 Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

