Showcase Sunday #27

Showcase Sunday

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here ~Vicki at Books, Biscuts, and Tea

PHYSICAL BOOKS
New books 4-25-14

Purchased
The Smoke Thief (Drakon #1) by Shana Abe – After having read The Sweetest Dark and The Darkest Night, I’m excited to see the original story that inspired the YA novels.
The Hunt (Project Paper Doll #2) by Stacey Kade – I pre-ordered this a month ago, and now it’s sitting here begging me to read it. I will say the scene Stacey wrote and sent to those of use who pre-ordred it featuring The Ghost & The Goth characters was fucking awesome. I really wanna ignore my to be read pile and do a re-read of that entire series.
Dark Mirror (Dark Mirror #1) by M J Putney – I have read a few of M J’s historical romance novels so I’m interested to see what she does with YA.
Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard #1) by Christina Lauren – I’m either going to love this or hate it, I can feel it. I wonder which it’ll be.
City Of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4) by Cassandra Clare – I really want to read this, but….I’m more than a little scared about the cliffhanger ending that I know will be there.
The Marriage Trap (Marriage To A Billionaire) by Jennifer Probst – Interesting contemporary NA sound book.
Walking Disaster (Beautiful #2) by Jamie McGuire – I know, I didn’t really love the first book in this series and I didn’t like the guy so why the hell would I buy book two told via the guy I don’t like’s perspective? Because it was $1.50 and I’m vaguely curious.
Rome (Marked Men #3) by Jay Crownover – I don’t even have the first two books in this series, but I want them!
Taking Chances (Taking Chances #1) by Molly McAdams – I know, didn’t I just mention in a review how I couldn’t really get behind reading anymore of her books because they always involve cheating? I did and I’m not necessarily waiving the white flag saying I’ll love them, but for $1? I’ll give it a try.
From Ashes (From Ashes #1) by Molly McAdams – See the previous comment
About A Boy by Nick Hornby – I really liked the film and High Fidelity (both the film and the novel)…enough said.
How To Be Good by Nick Hornby – See previous comment
Voice Of Crow (Aspect Of Crow #2) by Jeri Smith-Ready – This is the only series by Jeri I’ve yet to finish…I need to get on that.
Hayate Combat Butler #2 by Kenjiro Hata – The first manga in this series is hilarious so I couldn’t pass up getting more.
Hayate Combat Butler #3 by Kenjiro Hata – See previous comment
Hayate Combat Butler #4 by Kenjiro Hata – ditto
Hayate Combat Butler #5 by Kenjiro Hata – And once more.
Ultimate Venus #1 by Takako Shigematsu – Looks cute and funny and maybe a touch pervy
Heartless (Parasol Protectorate #4) by Gail Carringer – I only have book one in this series so when I read it, I’ll need to find 2 and 3, but at least I’ll have 4, right?
My Wicked Little Lies (Sinful Family Secrets #3) by Victoria Alexander – Historical romances don’t really need explanation, do they?
The Taker (The Taker #1) by Alma Katsu – It has such a pretty cover!
To Wed A Wild Lord (Hellions Of Halstead Hall #4) by Sabrina Jeffries – I just like Sabrina’s previous works
Bad To The Bone (WVMP Radio #2) by Jeri Smith-Ready – So, back when I was nice (HEY, it happened once or twice), I lent my step-sister this book because she had enjoyed the first one. She proceeded to lend it to someone else and it has never been seen or heard from again. This is me giving in and admitting that it’s lost to the abyss and I’ll need a new copy for my collection.

Won
The Secret Diamond Sisters (The Secret Diamond Sisters #1) by Michelle Madow from Eli at Eli to the nth – So excited about this! Michelle’s first novel, Remembrance, was the very first novel I ever won a copy of.

DIGITAL BOOKS
Purchased
Amazon Freebies
Killing Ruby Rose by Jessie Humphries
Killing Ruby Rose (The Ruby Rose Series #1) by Jessie Humphries

Now, before you guys search the internet to find my house and rob me of the massive pills of money I’d obviously need to buy this amount of novels in a week, let me tell you a few things. My local library’s annual book sale was this week, so I got a bunch from them. I was actually a little pissed that they upped their prices. Every year before it’s been $0.50 for paperbacks and $1 for hardbacks, but this year it was $1 for paperbacks and $2 for hardbacks, which is literally doubling the prices. It’s not that they aren’t worth that, but it’s the principle of the matter, you know? Also, in a effort to make room, I cleared out a box (or three) worth of books that I knew I would never get around to reading and sold some to a local used bookshop who issued me $60 of store credit. Between those two tidbits, it’s easy to see how I amassed so much this week, right? Did you get anything great this week? Let me know in the comments!

Tabitha's signature

3 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #27

  1. I just binge read The Marked Men series(well the books that are out) and I absolutely love it! I am now obsessed. If you can find Rule and Jet soon I really suggest getting to it sooner than later. So. Much. Love. 😀
    Well at least if you read CoFA soon you really won’t have to wait long to finish the series off. That’s if you can get to CoLS soon.
    Anyhow, you got soooo many great books this week. Great finds!
    Hope you enjoy them all.
    Happy reading!

    My SS

  2. Pingback: April Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets Reviews

Leave a Reply

