Life Of A Blogger #13

Life Of A Blogger banner

Weekly feature created by Jessi at Novel Heartbeats to discuss one non-bookish topic per week. For more information about this feature click here

This week’s topic: Plans For The Future

Career
I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. You can read more of my ramblings on that subject in my Life Of A Blogger #3 post.

Housing
Right now I’m living in a…well, duplex is the best way to describe it. A few years back, my dad lost his job and literally built walls to split his house in two so I could move in and help him with the bills but still keep my privacy. My side is just like a small one bedroom apartment with a living room, kitchen, bathroom, and a single bedroom. I think one day I want to venture out on my own and get a house so that should my husband and I decide to have kids, we’d have the space for it. Speaking of…

Kids
One day, definitely. Right now? Hell no. Just the idea of kids gives me palpitations. A little human completely dependent upon me (and my husband) to take care of it? That’s a hell of a lot of responsibility. I usually don’t run from responsibility but I have too many friends who are horrible parents and I want to be better than that. If I do this, I want to do it right, you know? Then there is the whole money thing. Yeah, I know money shouldn’t matter when it comes to kids, but I don’t know how we’d survive financially. We both work during the day (I’m a 8 to 5-er and my husband runs 9 to 5:30), so until they come to schoolroom age, I will need a full time babysitter or nanny. Have you looked into the price of those? Go and look. Seriously, google it, I’ll wait.
Britney Spears gif
Astronomical, right? I might as well become a housewife because the majority of my check would go to that. And I have no alternative. You might read my housing situation that I could just get my dad to babysit, but that’s a no-go. He’d let his new wife watch the kid and hell fucking no. Her daughter is a teenager who I’d like to slap the shit out of. Not to mention, I’ve seen her babysit infants before and it’s not good. My mom isn’t terrible, but she’s a smoker and I’ve seen her light up right in front of children of all ages before. I don’t want my kids exposed to that. Secondhand smoke is a killer I don’t intend to introduce to them until it’s unavoidable. Then there are the in-laws. Can I just say no and leave it at that? My husband agrees that they won’t be baby-sitting either. So, kids are a problematic issues no matter how you look at it. It’ll happen one day, but not until I get a better handle on how to do it.

I guess that’s it. Do you have big plans for your future? Let me know in the comments.

Tabitha's signature

4 thoughts on “Life Of A Blogger #13

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | Bows & Bullets

  2. Baha, your kids paragraph made me giggle! I know how you feel. I’m not ready mentally or physically (um, there is NO way I want to be that fat…I need to be in shape first!), and neither of us are ready financially. Plus, I want to be married and settled into a house first and be completely stable in all areas of life before we even THINK about babies!

    • Exactly! I agree on the house thing as well. I want to have a home that I can bring a child into without worry for space instead of frantically searching for a new place because our current abode doesn’t have space for a nursery!

  3. Pingback: I’m moving! | Bows & Bullets

Leave a Reply

